Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now


Fortnightly Magazine - April 1 2001

Kevin P. Madden was named general counsel for the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission by Chairman Curt Hébert, Jr . Madden has held a number of key positions at FERC. Most recently, he was deputy director of the Office of Markets, Tariffs, and Rates.

Entergy recently announced several appointments. Paul D. Hinnenkamp , formerly of Exelon Corp., was named vice president of operations support. Mike Kansler , the previous VP of operations support, accepted a position as COO of Entergy Nuclear Northeast. John T. Herron was named vice president of operations at the Waterford 3 nuclear plant. Herron succeeds Charles M. Dugger , who was named vice president of operations at the Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station.

Peter Fox-Penner , author of the bestselling book, "Electric Utility Restructuring: A Guide to the Competitive Era," by Public Utilities Reports, has been elected chairman of The Brattle Group, an economic consulting firm. Robson Googins was elected president and CEO. Fox-Penner replaces Dr. Lawrence Kolbe , and Googins replaces Frank C. Graves . Fox-Penner will maintain his practice from the firm's Washington, D.C. office, while Googins will continue with the Cambridge, MA office.

Tampa Electric Company announced the retirement of H.I. "Skip" Wilson , energy delivery vice president. Tom Hernandez , formerly vice president of regulatory affairs, has been named to replace him.

Carol E. Murphy has been appointed to the newly created position of executive director of government affairs and communication for the New York Independent System Operator (NYISO). Murphy was formerly the executive director of the Independent Power Producers of New York Inc. (IPNY). She was also elected to represent all the state IPP trade associations as a board member of the Electric Power supply Association (EPSA).

Bill Boswell , assistant secretary of Dominion Resources, was named chairman of the board of directors for the Gas Industry Standards Board (GISB). Hugh Roberts , manager of industry and regulatory affairs for Marathon Oil Co., was named first vice chairman. Jim Buccigross , vice president of energy industry practice for Group 8760, remains chairman of the executive committee, for the third straight year. Mike Novak , assistant general manager of National Fuel Gas Distribution, is serving his third year as vice chairman of the Executive Committee.

Dr. Allen M. Barnett , president and CEO of AstroPower Inc., has been selected as the 2001 recipient of the University of Delaware's Karl W. Böer Solar Energy Medal of Merit for his pioneering, high performance, thin-crystalline silicon solar cells; founding and leading a world-class enterprise for the commercialization of solar electric products; and his outstanding continuing service to the solar electric power community.

DTE Energy named Larry E. Steward vice president, human resources strategy. Steward served as corporate vice president, human resources, for Invacare Corp.

Sen. James M. Inhofe (R-OK) has been officially named chairman of the Senate Environment & Public Work Subcommittee on Transportation & Infrastructure.

The Oregon Public Utility Commission has approved the board of directors for a new nonprofit organization that will administer the conservation and renewable resources portions of the state's 1999 electric industry restructuring law.