Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now

People (July 15, 2001)

Fortnightly Magazine - July 15 2001

CMS Energy Corp. has elected David G. Mengebier as senior vice president of governmental and public affairs. Mengebier will replace John W. Clark , who is retiring on Aug. 1, after 16 years in the position. Mengebier is currently vice president of governmental and international affairs, with management responsibility for CMS's Washington office. He has been with the company since 1991.

Curt Hébert, Jr., chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Committee (FERC), recently announced that J. Mark Robinson will head the Office of Energy Projects (OEP), and Robert J. Cupina will serve as deputy director. Robinson has served as OEP's director of the Division of Environmental and Engineering Review since its creation in 1999. Cupina has worked in the energy industry since 1973, and has most recently served as director of the Division of Tariffs and Rates- Central in the Office of Markets, Tariffs, and Rates.

FERC also announced the appointment of its newest commissioners, Pat Wood III , formerly chairman of the Texas PUC, and Nora Mead Brownell , president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). Brownell resigned her post as president of NARUC immediately. William M. Nugent , a member of the Maine Public Utilities Commission, will become NARUC's new president. Commissioner Nugent was previously the First Vice President of NARUC.

Gordon van Welie recently was appointed president and CEO of ISO New England Inc. van Welie joined ISO New England as executive vice president and chief operating officer in September 2000, and will succeed acting chief executive officer William W. Barry , who will remain chairman of ISO New England's Board of Directors. van Welie came to ISO New England from Seimens Power, where he held the position of vice president and general manager of the Power Systems Control Division.

ISO New England also announced that Stephen G. Whitley has been promoted to senior vice president and chief operating officer, and Kathleen A. Carrigan has been promoted to senior vice president, general counsel, and secretary. Both promotions were made effective immediately.

PSEG Global recently named George P. Schaefer as senior vice president of financing and treasurer. In his new role, he will focus on corporate and structured financing, financial planning, and asset and risk management. In addition, he also will assume responsibility for the asset management of the company's investment in Texas Independent Energy, a joint venture established to develop, construct, own, and operate electric generation facilities in Texas. Prior to this, Schaefer was a senior executive for Enron Corp.

T.J. Glauthier , former deputy secretary and chief operating officer at the U.S. Department of Energy, has been appointed president and CEO of the newly founded Electricity Innovation Institute, an independent affiliated organization of the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). The Institute has been established to manage public/private partnership R&D programs that address the pressing need for clean, efficient and affordable electricity technology for the 21st century.

Dynegy Inc. recently announced that Michael D. Capellas , chairman and chief executive officer of Compaq Computer Corp., and H. John Riley, Jr. , chairman, president, and chief executive