Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now


New Positions:
Fortnightly Magazine - May 15 2003

New Positions:

President Bush named Dr. Nils J. Diaz chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), succeeding Richard A. Meserve . Diaz's current NRC term expires in 2006. Diaz also is professor-emeritus of Nuclear Engineering Sciences at the University of Florida.

Pantellos named Jim Neikirk president and CEO. Neikirk spent five years at Entergy Corp. as vice president and chief procurement officer.

The Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) brought aboard another "loaned executive" in Entergy Vice President Chuck Dugger , who will serve as vice president of nuclear operations at NEI. Dugger becomes the third loaned executive at the institute, joining Don Cox and Mike Comiskey (see "People," 4/15).

Exelon appointed Darryl M. Bradford vice president and associate general counsel, putting him in charge of legal responsibilities for Exelon's Chicago subsidiary, ComEd. Bradford previously was a senior partner for Jenner & Block.

Kerry Stroup , formerly director of utilities for the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio, joined PJM interconnection as its manager of regulatory affairs. Stroup most recently was associate director for the National Regulatory Research Institute.

The United PowerLine Council board of directors elected Leif Ericson and Joe Cufari as its co-chairs. Ericson is business manager at Southern Telecom and Cufari is vice president of business development at Current Technologies.

The Shaw Group, consultants and engineers to the power industry, named Michael Childers president of its Stone & Webster Power Division. Childers previously served as COO of Entergy Wholesale Operations and president of Entergy Asset Management.

APS named Art Othon director of Community Relations and Economic Development. Othon joined APS in 1991 after working in state politics.

William A. "Bill" Eaton , vice president at Entergy Nuclear South's Grand Gulf Nuclear Station, became vice president of engineering for the South region. Also, George A. Williams , vice president of operations support, accepted a rotating assignment as vice president at Grand Gulf.

DPL Inc. elected three directors to its board: Ernie Green , president and CEO of Ernie Green Industries; Wallace Creek , senior vice president of Collins & Aikman Corp.; and Michael W. Grebe , CEO of The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation

James Dunlap joined the board of directors at El Paso Corp. He previously was president, vice chairman, and COO at Ocean Energy/United Meridian Corp.

Westar Energy appointed Michael F. Morrissey to its board of directors, where Morrissey will serve on the Audit and Finance Committee. Morrissey worked for Ernst & Young LLP until 1999, when he retired.

Also at Westar, Doug Henry has returned to the company to serve as its vice president of power delivery. Henry held the same position prior to leaving the company in November of 2001.


Steve Ledbetter , CEO and chairman of Reliant Resources, resigned after three years with the company and was replaced on an interim basis by Reliant board member Joel V. Staff .


American Electric Power (AEP) Chairman, President, and CEO E. Linn Draper Jr. will step down in 2004, after more than 10 years with the company. AEP did not provide a specific date for Draper's retirement but