Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now


Fortnightly Magazine - November 2011

Exelon announced senior executive changes upon the completion of the Exelon-Constellation merger. Denis P. O’Brien , currently executive v.p. of Exelon and president and CEO of PECO, will become senior executive v.p. of Exelon Corp. and CEO of Exelon Utilities. William A. Von Hoene Jr. , currently executive v.p., finance and legal, will become senior executive v.p. and chief strategy officer for the combined company. Matthew F. Hilzinger , currently senior v.p. and CFO for Exelon, will become executive v.p. and chief integration officer. Jonathan W. “Jack” Thayer , currently CFO for Constellation Energy, will become executive v.p. and CFO of the combined company. Craig Adams , currently senior v.p. and COO of PECO, will become PECO’s CEO. Anne Pramaggiore , currently president and COO of ComEd, will become ComEd’s CEO. Kenneth W. Cornew , currently senior v.p. of Exelon and president of Exelon Power Team, will become executive v.p. and chief commercial officer of Exelon and president and CEO of Constellation.

Xcel Energy named Teresa S. Madden senior v.p. and CFO. Formerly, Madden was v.p. and controller at Xcel and its predecessor company, Public Service Co. of Colorado. Scott Wilensky was named senior v.p. and general counsel. Wilensky previously was v.p., regulatory and resource planning, for all Xcel Energy operating companies. Dave Sparby , who was previously v.p. and CFO, will now become senior v.p. and group president.

Sempra Energy elected Mark A. Snell president. Snell previously served as Sempra’s executive v.p. and CFO, and succeeds Neal E. Schmale. Joseph A. Householder succeeds Snell as executive v.p. and CFO of Sempra Energy. Householder previously served as senior v.p., controller and chief accounting officer.

FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Co. (FENOC) named Kevin Ostrowski v.p. of fleet oversight, succeeding Karen Fili who became director of fleet operations support. Fili succeeds  Fred Cayia , who was named director of fleet performance improvement. 

American Electric Power promoted Dennis E. Welch to executive v.p. and chief administrative officer. Welch previously served as executive v.p. of environment, safety, health and facilities.

Alterra Power Corp. appointed John Carson as CEO. Carson was executive v.p. of Alterra since early this year when he joined Alterra’s predecessor company Magma Energy.

California Independent System Operator (ISO) appointed Eric Schmitt as v.p. operations. Schmitt was previously senior v.p. at Science Applications International Corp. (SAIC), and will replace Steve Berberich who was appointed ISO president and CEO in June.

The Organization of MISO States (OMS) elected new officers to serve the remainder of 2011.

Commissioner Robert Kenney , a member of the Missouri Public Service Commission (PSC), will complete the term of the departing president, Monica Martinez. Chairman Tony Clark of the North Dakota PSC will replace Iowa Utilities Board Commissioner Rob Berntsen as secretary of the OMS. Commissioner Eric Callisto of the Wisconsin PSC will serve as an at-large member of the OMS executive committee, replacing Commissioner Kenney. Commissioner Kari Bennett of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission was nominated as OMS v.p., replacing David Armstrong of the Kentucky PSC, who remains an OMS board member.

The North American Electric Reliability Corp. appointed Thomas