Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now


Fortnightly Magazine - September 15 1995

Peter B. Lilly has been named president and COO of Peabody Holding Co. Peabody is the world's largest private producer and marketer of coal. Lilly will continue to report to Irl F. Englehardt, Peabody Holding's chairman and CEO. Englehardt was recently named v.p. of Hanson Industries' energy group.The board of directors of The Dayton Power & Light Co. has elected Arthur G. Meyer treasurer.

IES Utilities, Inc. has named James E. Hoffman executive v.p. of customer service and energy delivery. Hoffman comes to IES from MCI, where he was most recently chief information officer with responsibility for all software development and information technology support.

Michelle Michot Foss has been named director at the University of Houston's College of Business Administration Energy Institute, a new program.

Andersen Consulting has consolidated worldwide operational responsibility for its Communications Industry Group under partner Larry R. Levitran. William M. Hall, managing partner, will lead its Utilities Industry Practice in the Americas.

Cheryl L. Parrino, chairman of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin, will run for the post of president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners.

Gov. Gary Johnson has appointed Wayne Shirley chairman of the New Mexico Public Utility Commission.

California Energy Co., Inc. has promoted Frederick L. Manuel to v.p. for U.S. operations. Manuel was previously v.p. and g.m. for Imperial Valley operations.

Michael A. Deihl has been selected as administrator for the Southwestern Power Administration. Deihl has been administrator of the Alaska Power Administration since 1992. That position will be filled by Lloyd A. Linke.

The trustees of the New York Power Authority have appointed assemblyman C.D. "Rapp" Rappleyea chairman and CEO. Robert G. Schoenberger, NYPA's COO, will assume the additional position of president.

Carl Smith has been named v.p. of marketing for the southern division of NUI Corp. Smith was formerly business group manager, southern region, for A&C Enercom, an Atlanta-based energy consulting firm.

William C. Carmon has been named director of marketing for United Cities Gas Co. Michael L. Conn becomes senior

manager-federal and state pipeline regulations. Dave M. McClanahan becomes senior manager-planning and analysis.

Elizabeth A. Fetter has been promoted to president of Pacific Bell's Industry Markets Group.

Andrew J. Kurtz has joined the board of directors of Great Bay Power Corp., an EWG in New England. Kurtz is an analyst and portfolio manager at New York-based Elliott Associates, L.P., which holds a major equity position in the company.

The board of directors of Southwestern Public Service Co. has elected David M. Wilks president and COO. He replaces Coyt Webb, who is retiring.

The Midland Cogeneration Limited Partnership has elected James M. Kevra president and CEO. Gary B. Pasek will assume the positions of general counsel and secretary.

Michael R. Whitley has been elected chairman and CEO of KU Energy Corp. and all of its subsidiaries, including Kentucky Utilities Co. Whitley replaces John T. Newton, who has retired but will remain on the board.

Julie Simon has joined the Electric Generation Association as director of policy. Simon, an attorney with extensive experience in the legal and policy issues of the