Public Utilities Reports

PUR Guide 2012 Fully Updated Version

Available NOW!
PUR Guide

This comprehensive self-study certification course is designed to teach the novice or pro everything they need to understand and succeed in every phase of the public utilities business.

Order Now

Bipartisan Energy Politics? 105th Congress Takes on Electric Restructuring in Earnest

Fortnightly Magazine - March 15 1997

Sabo (Minn.), ranking Democrat

Eileen Baumgartner, minority staff director

Commerce (27-22)

Thomas J. Billey, Jr. (Va.), chairman

James E. Derderian, majority staff director

John D. Dingell (Mich.), ranking Democrat

Alan J. Roth, minority staff director

Key Subcommittee chairmen

Dan Schaefer (Colo.),Energy and Power

Joe Barton (Texas), Oversight and Investigations

W.J. "Billy" Tauzin, Telecommunications and Finance

Michael G. Oxley (Ohio), Commerce, Trade, Hazardous Materials

Judiciary (20-15)

Henry J. Hyde, III (Ill.), Chairman

Alan F. Coffey, majority staff director

John Conyers, Jr. (Mich.), ranking Democrat

Julian Epstein, minority staff director

Resources (27-22)

Don Young (Alaska), chairman

Daniel Val Kish, majority staff director

George Miller (Calif.), ranking Democrat

John Lawrence, minority staff director

Ways and Means (23-16)

Bill Archer (Texas), chairman

Pete Singleton, majority staff director

Sam M. Gibbons (Fla.), ranking Democrat

Janice Mays, minority staff director

*(Ratio of Republicans to Democrats.)

Key Senate Committees

Appropriations (15-13)*

Ted Stevens (Alaska), chairman

J. Keith Kennedy, majority staff director

Robert C. Byrd (W.Va.), ranking Democrat

James H. English, minority staff director

Key Subcommittee Chairmen

Pete V. Domenici (N.M.), Energy and Water Development

Slade Gorton (R-Wash.), Interior and Related Agencies

Budget (13-11)

Pete V. Domenici (N.M.), chairman

G. William Hoagland, majority staff director

Frank R. Lautenberg (N.J.), ranking Democrat

William G. Dauster, minority staff director

Commerce, Science and Transportation (11-10)

John McCain (Ariz.), chairman

Patric G. Link, majority staff director

Ernest F. Hollings (S.C.), ranking Democrat

Kevin G. Curtin, minority staff director

Energy and Natural Resources (11-9)

Frank H. Murkowski (Alaska), chairman

Gregg Renkes, majority staff director

Dale Bumpers (Ark.), ranking Democrat

Ben Cooper, minority staff director

Key Subcommittee Chairmen

Don Nickles (Okla.), Subcommittee on Energy Research,

Development, Production and Regulation

John Kyl (Ariz.), Water and Power

Environment and Public Works (10-8)

John H. Chafee (R.I.), chairman

Steven Shimberg, majority staff director

Max Baucus (Mont.), ranking Democrat

J. Thomas Sliter, minority staff director

Finance (11-9)

William V. Roth, Jr. (Del.), chairman

Lindy L. Paull, majority staff director

Daniel P. Moynihan (N.Y.), ranking Democrat

Mark Patterson, minority staff director

* (Ratio of Republicans to Democrats.)


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.