People (February 2013)

Fortnightly Magazine - February 2013

New Opportunities: Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) named Travis Kiyota v.p. of corporate affairs. He was the company’s senior director of local government relations. Deborah Affonsa became v.p. of corporate strategy. She most recently served as senior director of utility strategic planning. Brian Rich was appointed v.p. of IT business technology. Previously he was senior director of customer care technology.

Travis Kiyota

Sempra Energy hired James H. Lambright as senior v.p. of corporate development. Most recently he was COO, CFO, president-international, and a member of the board of directors for Sapphire Energy.

Entergy appointed Jeff S. Forbes as executive v.p. of nuclear operations and chief nuclear officer at Entergy Nuclear. Formerly senior v.p. of nuclear operations for Entergy Nuclear, Forbes succeeds John Herron, who plans to retire March 31.

American Electric Power appointed Charles E. Zebula, formerly treasurer and senior v.p. of investor relations, as executive v.p. of energy supply and Julie Sloat, formerly v.p. of regulatory case management, as treasurer and senior v.p.

Reuters Events – Energy Transition North America 2022 – #ETNA2022 – Register Now – Houston, Texas; November 9–10

Duke Energy made several executive changes resulting from its merger with Progress Energy.

Deborah Affonsa

Lloyd Yates, previously executive v.p. of customer operations, was appointed executive v.p. of regulated utilities. Marc Manly, previously executive v.p. and chief legal officer, became executive v.p. and president of commercial businesses. Chuck Whitlock, interim president of commercial businesses since July, will return to his previous role as president of Midwest commercial generation. Julie Janson was promoted to executive v.p. and chief legal officer. Previously she was state president of Duke Energy Ohio and Duke Energy Kentucky.

Jim Henning, previous v.p. of government and regulatory affairs for Duke Energy Ohio and Duke Energy Kentucky, was appointed state president of the two companies. Keith Trent was elected as executive v.p. and COO of regulated utilities. Previously he was executive v.p. of regulated utilities.

Dominion named Scott C. Miller, formerly v.p. of budgeting, business planning, and market analysis, as v.p. at its Dominion East Ohio subsidiary.

Integrys Energy Group named James F. Schott, v.p. of external affairs, to serve as v.p. and CFO for the company. Schott succeeds Joseph P. O’Leary, who plans to retire later this year. O’Leary will continue to serve as senior v.p. The company also appointed Larry Borgard, president and COO of the Integrys regulated utilities, as leader of Integrys governmental relations, and William D. Laakso, v.p. of human resources, became leader of the company’s corporate communications department. Phillip M. Mikulsky, executive v.p. of business performance and shared services, is now executive v.p. of corporate initiatives and chief security officer; and Mark A. Radtke was appointed as executive v.p. of shared services in addition to his current responsibilities as chief strategy officer and CEO of Integrys Transportation Fuels.

Lloyd Yates

Alliant Energy promoted Thomas Hanson from v.p. and CFO to senior v.p. and CFO. Linda Mattes was appointed v.p. of energy delivery operations. She most recently led development of the proposed natural gas generating station in Marshalltown, Iowa. Douglas Kopp was promoted from director of environmental affairs to v.p. of environmental affairs. Tom Aller, senior v.p. of energy resource development and president of Alliant Energy’s Interstate Power and Light subsidiary, became senior v.p. of operations support. He remains IP&L’s president. Vern Gebhart, previously v.p. of energy delivery operations, became v.p. of business infrastructure and technology.

Associations: The National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA) named Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (R-Mo.) CEO. Emerson succeeds long-time CEO Glenn English, who will retire.

The Retail Energy Supply Association (RESA) elected new officers for 2013: Melissa Lauderdale (Integrys Energy) was appointed president; Aundrea Williams (NRG) first v.p.; Robert Barkanic (PPL Energy Plus) second v.p.; Jay Kooper (Hess Corp.) secretary; Roy Boston (Noble Americas Energy Solutions) treasurer; and David Fein (Exelon), past president.

Reuters Events – Energy Transition North America 2022 – #ETNA2022 – Register Now – Houston, Texas; November 9–10

Denise Bode, CEO of the American Wind Energy Association, resigned her position to return to private practice as a tax attorney.

Marc Manly

Governor Edmund G Brown Jr. appointed Carla Peterman as commissioner of the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC). Peterman was a commissioner on the California Energy Commission.

Boards of Directors: Southern Company elected David J. Grain to its board of directors. Grain is founder and managing partner of Grain Management.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: