New Positions:
Fortnightly Magazine - September 1 2003


New Positions:

Mirant's board of directors elected Robert N. Dangremond as its chief restructuring officer, following the company's Chapter 11 filing in mid-July. Dangremond is a principal with AlixPartners LLC.

Beth W. Cooper was appointed corporate treasurer of Chesapeake Utilities Corp., headquartered in Dover, Del. Cooper moves from the role of assistant treasurer for the utility.

Gail C. McDonald, commissioner at the Maryland Public Service Commission, was elected president of the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners. McDonald also currently serves as chairperson of the New Delhi, India/Maryland Public Service Commission Electric Regulatory Partnership.

Calpine Corp. appointed Susan Wang to its board of directors and audit committee. Wang most recently served 18 years with Solectron Corp.

CH Energy Group Inc. transitioned Steven V. Lant to president and CEO of the company, while retaining his CFO responsibilities. Lant has been with CH Energy Group 23 years.

Westar Energy named two new directors to its board: Mollie Hale Carter, who currently serves on the Archer Daniels Midland board of directors, and Arthur B. Krause, who retired from Sprint last year.

Dayton Power & Light hired Suresh Iyer as director of production fuels, luring him away from his role as director of asset management at PG&E National Energy Group.

Dynegy Inc. elected Thomas D. Clark Jr. as a company director. Clark also is the chair of Information Science and director of the Center for Virtual Organizations and Commerce in the E.J. Ourso College of Business Administration at Louisiana State University.

Bryan E. Seas joined AGL Resources as vice president and CFO. Seas previously was vice president and controller of the Global Power division of El Paso Corp. Also, Randolph Cardoza joined the company as managing director of economic development

Stan Wise assumed the presidency of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). Wise, a Georgia commissioner, replaces David Svanda, who stepped down. Prior to his departure, Svanda named Massachusetts Commissioner Robert Keating chairman of NARUC's newly formed Natural Gas Task Force, and he appointed Maryland Commissioner Harold D. Williams chair of the DOE/NARUC Energy Market Access Partnership Board.


The Boston Globe reported that Paul B. Vasington resigned as chairman of the Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Energy so he could pursue business opportunities. He had been with the department for 10 years. The Globe, citing unnamed sources, said Vasington wanted a higher-paying job.

Larry Irick resigned as a member of Westar Energy's board of directors but continues in his role as the company's vice president and general counsel.

Linda J. Fisher, deputy administrator to former EPA head Christie Whitman, resigned her position. In her letter of resignation, Fisher noted she had served the EPA "under seven presidents over more than three decades."


Charles Biscieglia received the Distinguished Service Award from the New Jersey Utilities Association (NJUA). He serves on boards of the NJUA, the New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce, and the American Gas Association.


Ameren Corp. board member Hanne M. Merriman died July 4. She was 61 years old.


Articles found on this page are available to subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.