Fortnightly Magazine - December 2006

Michael Heyeck was named senior vice president of transmission at American Electric Power Co. Heyeck previously was managing director of corporate budgeting and economic forecasting.

Duke Energy announced that Jim Stanley, the company’s vice president of Midwest field operations, would lead its Indiana utility as president. Stanley began working for the company’s Indiana operations in 1977.

ITC Transmission, a subsidiary of ITC Holdings, hired Frances (Francie) Brown as director, state governmental affairs. Brown previously was a state regulatory advocate and lobbyist for AT&T.

ComEd announced that its board of directors appointed Edward (Ted) J. Mooney, former Nalco chairman and CEO, and Jesse H. Ruiz, a partner in the law firm of Garden Carton & Douglas, to the utility’s board of directors.

The domestic electricity delivery subsidiary of PPL Corp. named a 25-year industry veteran as its senior vice president of transmission and distribution engineering and operations. David G. DeCampli, who has served as vice president, asset investment strategy and development, for Exelon Energy Delivery, will join PPL in early December.

Mark Fairbairn will be appointed as an executive director of National Grid on Jan. 1, 2007. Fairbairn currently is COO of UK Gas Distribution. Linda Adamany will join the board as a non-executive director on Nov. 1, 2006. Linda is a group vice president of BP Refining and Marketing, based in London. She has more than 25 years of experience in the energy sector.

Keith Crane was named vice president and treasurer for Spectra Energy Corp., the name of the new gas company following the separation of Duke Energy’s electric and natural-gas businesses into two publicly traded companies. Crane joins Spectra with almost 20 years of diversified financial experience in the energy industry, most recently as treasurer of Entergy-Koch LP.

The board of trustees of Northeast Utilities announced the election of Kenneth R. Leibler as a trustee, effective Nov. 1, 2006. Leibler is the chairman of the Boston Options Exchange and a former chairman of the Boston Stock Exchange. He previously served as president and CEO of Liberty Financial Cos. and as president and COO of the American Stock xchange. He also served as vice chairman of the board of directors of ISO New England.

The board of directors of Ameren Corp. announced that Stephen F. Brauer, chairman and CEO of Hunter Engineering Co., was elected to the Ameren board. In 2001, Brauer took a leave of absence from Hunter to become ambassador to Belgium, returning to the company in 2003.

Semco Energy Inc. elected Donald W. Thomason as non-executive chairman of the board of directors. He succeeds Dr. John M. (Jack) Albertine, who retired from the company’s board of directors effective Oct. 9, 2006. Albertine was elected to the company’s board of directors in 1999 and was named chairman in October 2004.

Potomac Economics appointed Daniel L. Jones to direct market-monitor operations in Austin, Texas. Jones formerly was a Texas PUC staff advisor.

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) selected Chauncey Starr, president emeritus of The Electric Power Research Institute, as the recipient of its Arthur M. Bueche Award, for his work on nuclear fission reactors and in the development of technology risk analysis and management. Starr served as vice president of NAE from 1970 to 1974, and temporarily as acting president during that period.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: