Fortnightly Magazine - September 2008

New Opportunities: ISO New England selected Vamsi Chadalavada as senior vice president and COO, replacing Stephen G. Whitley who retired after being named president and CEO of the New York ISO.

PG&E Corp. announced that Peter A. Darbee, chairman, CEO and president, will assume added duties of CEO and president of subsidiary Pacific Gas and Electric Co.

Ontario Power Authority appointed Colin Andersen CEO effective September 15. He held many senior positions in the Ontario Public Service, most recently as deputy minister of finance, secretary of the treasury of board, deputy minister of revenue, chair of the Ontario Electricity Financial Corp. and chair of the Ontario Financing Authority.

Calpine promoted Andre Walker to vice president, finance and investor relations, from director of that division.

PSEG named Randall E. Mehrberg to the new post of executive vice president for planning and strategy.

Ameren Corp. promoted Charles D. Naslund to chairman, president and CEO of Ameren Energy Resources and to chairman and president of Ameren Energy Generating Co. He was senior vice president and chief nuclear officer of AmerenUE. Adam C. Heflin, vice president of nuclear operations at AmerenUE, is promoted to senior vice president and chief nuclear officer of AmerenUE.

ONEOK, Inc. named James “Paul” Wilson regional vice president and Eric “Rick” A. Grundman vice president of administration. Wilson replaces Gregory A. Phillips who previously was named president of subsidiary Texas Gas Service. Phillips replaces Roger Mitchell who is the new president of ONEOK’s Oklahoma Natural Gas Co.

Black Hills Corp. appointed Anthony S. Cleberg executive vice president and CFO. Black Hills appointed Scott Buchholz senior vice president—chief information officer and Lynn Wilson as senior vice president—communications and investor relations. Both began their new roles at the close of the acquisition by Black Hills of Aquila’s natural gas and electric properties in Colorado. Jason Ketchum was named director of investor relations. He was Aquila’s manager of investor relations.

Peabody Energy announced organizational changes, naming Christopher J. Hagedorn vice president of supply chain management. Lance N. Throneberry is general manager, supply chain management for Peabody’s Australia operations. Jeffrey A. Maher is vice president, business continuous improvement. Antonnette (Toni) M. Jackson is vice president of compensation. L. Cartan Sumner, Jr. is vice president of international government relations and Thomas A. Benner is director of underground mines for the Peabody Midwest Group.

Bristol Virginia Utilities named Sandra Munsey marketing director after serving as marketing coordinator for BVU FOCUS, the utility’s business unit that assists communities across the country to make advanced telecommunications choices.

APX appointed Joseph A. Varnas to the new position of chief technology officer. He was executive vice president and CIO at Marsh.

Morrison & Foerster added Michael J. Steel as partner to the Cleantech and Environmental practice in San Francisco.

Tantalus appointed Eric J.L. Murray president of Tantalus Systems Corp. from senior vice president, sales and business development.


Board Elections: The Nuclear Energy Institute re-elected John W. Rowe, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Exelon Corp., as chairman of its board of directors. NEI also re-elected W. Gary Gates, president and CEO of the Omaha Public Power District, as vice chairman. New elected members of NEI’s executive committee are: John A. Fees, CEO, The Babcock & Wilcox Co.; David M. Ratcliffe, chairman, president and CEO of The Southern Co.; and E. James Reinsch, president, Bechtel Nuclear. Re-elected to the executive committee are: W. Gary Gates; Gerald W. Grandey, president and CEO, Cameco Corp.; and Thomas D. Kilgore, president and CEO, Tennessee Valley Authority. Newly elected to the NEI board of directors are: Dr. Aris S. Candris, senior vice president, nuclear services, Westinghouse Electric Co.; and Dr. Audeen Fentiman, associate dean of engineering for graduate education and interdisciplinary programs and professor of nuclear engineering, Purdue University. Re-elected board members are: John A. Fees; George D. Turner, president and CEO, American Nuclear Insurers; and Alan W. Wendorf, chairman and CEO, Sargent & Lundy. The following NEI officers were re-elected: Frank L. Bowman, president and CEO; Marvin S. Fertel, executive vice president; Alex Flint, senior vice president; Angelina S. Howard, Richard J. Myers, J. Scott Peterson and Anthony R. Pietrangelo, vice president; Ellen C. Ginsberg, vice president and secretary; Phyllis M. Rich, vice president and treasurer; and Lisa I. Steward, assistant secretary.

Constellation Energy elected three independent directors to the board of subsidiary, Baltimore Gas and Electric Co. They are Joseph Haskins Jr., president and CEO of The Harbor Bank of Maryland; Dr. Carla D. Hayden, executive director of the Enoch Pratt Free Library; and Michael D. Sullivan, chairman and co-founder, LifeSource Inc. and a member of the board at Constellation.


Retirements: NiSource announced that Michael W. O’Donnell, executive vice president and CFO, will retire in 2009.

NW Natural announced CEO Mark S. Dodson will retire at the end of 2008, and named Gregg S. Kantor, president and chief operating officer, his successor.


We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: