Fortnightly Magazine - December 2008

New Opportunities: Arizona Public Service named Daniel Froetscher vice president of energy delivery. A 28-year company veteran, he replaces Jan Bennett, senior vice president of energy delivery, who is retiring.

Southwest Gas Corp. hired Don Soderberg as vice president of external affairs. He is the former chairman of the Nevada Public Utilities Commission.

Chesapeake Utilities Corp. named Michael P. McMasters as executive vice president and COO. He was CFO since 1997 and senior vice president since 2004. Beth W. Cooper, Chesapeake’s vice president, treasurer and corporate secretary, succeeds him as senior vice president and CFO.

American Gas Association (AGA) elected Thomas E. Skains chairman. Skains is chairman, president and CEO of Piedmont Natural Gas. AGA appointed Laura Sheehan vice president of marketing and communications. Peabody Energy named John C. Hull director of sales and Western transportation for its COALSALES subsidiary from director of sales and marketing. He succeeds Michael R. Rayphole who retired.

Northeast Utilities Foundation elected Patricia McCullough president and executive director. She continues to serve as a director in NU’s enterprise planning group.

New Jersey Resources appointed Stan Kosierowski as vice president of clean energy ventures.

Brattle Group announced Mark T. Williams joined the firm as a senior advisor. He will remain executive-in-residence at Boston University’s finance and economics department.

EES North America

Black & Veatch announced Luisa Freeman joined its Enterprise management Solutions division as a managing director in its business strategy and planning practice. Michael Rose is hired as associate vice president of the company’s enterprise management solutions division.


Board Elections: PNM Resources elected Donald K. Schwanz to its board. He is retired chairman and CEO of CTS Corp.

ISO New England elected Kathryn J. Jackson to its board. She is vice president of strategy, research and technology at Westinghouse Electric Co. She replaces Donald L. Isaacs who retired.

Southwest Gas Corp. elected Thomas A. Thomas as a board member. He is a managing partner of the Thomas & Mack Co.

Cleco Corp. elected Logan Kruger to its board. Kruger is president, CEO and a director of Century Aluminum Co.

Chesapeake Utilities Corp. elected Dianna F. Morgan to its board. She is a former Walt Disney World executive.

Sierra Pacific Resources elected Susan F. Clark to its board. Clark is a former chairman of the Florida PSC.

National Mining Association (NMA) elected a new slate of officers to two-year terms. Among them, Gary J. Goldberg, president and CEO of Rio Tinto Minerals was elected chairman of the board, and Greg Boyce, chairman and CEO of Peabody Energy Corp., was elected vice chairman.


Retirements: PPL Corp. announced the retirement of Britt T. McKinney, senior vice president and chief nuclear office for subsidiary PPL Generation. William H. Spence, PPL Corp.’s executive v.p. and COO will serve as chief nuclear officer while the search for McKinney’s successor continues.

Idacorp Inc. announced Gregory W. Panter is retiring as vice president of public affairs at Idaho Power Co. and its parent company, Idacorp.


Resignations: New York PSC announced the resignation of Commissioner Cheryl Buley, who is relocating outside the state after accepting a marriage proposal.


We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: