People (December 2009)

Fortnightly Magazine - December 2009

New Opportunities: Con Edison named Craig S. Ivey as president. Ivey succeeds Louis Rana, president and CEO of Con Edison who is retiring after 40 years. Ivey was senior v.p. for transmission and distribution at Dominion Resources.

American Electric Power (AEP) promoted Brian X. Tierney to executive v.p. and CFO from executive v.p.-AEP Utilities East. Venita McCellon-Allen, formerly executive v.p., AEP Utilities West, replaces Tierney. Charles Patton succeeds McCellon-Allen and was senior v.p.-regulatory & public policy.

FirstEnergy named Tony C. Banks as v.p. product and business development for FirstEnergy Solutions, from v.p. business development, performance and management. John W. Judge was promoted to director, supply chain from director of integrated business planning. Kelly E. Mendenhall, who was promoted to assistant treasurer earlier this year, will assume added responsibilities for integrated business planning.

Exelon named Douglas J. Brown as senior v.p. and chief investment officer following a 26-year career with Chrysler. He replaces the retiring George Shicora.

Piedmont Natural Gas promoted June Moore to v.p.-enterprise quality management from v.p.-customer service. Ranelle Warfield is named v.p.-customer service from v.p. of sales and marketing. Ken Valentine is promoted to the new position of v.p.-business development and carbon management strategies from managing director-planning and project management. Bill Williams is promoted to v.p. of sales and delivery services from managing director-transportation and major account services.

Northwest Natural Gas named Richard Daniel as president of subsidiary, NW Natural Gas Storage.

EES North America

Susan J. Court, formerly director of FERC’s office of enforcement, joined the Hogan & Hartson energy practice as partner.

NRG Energy announced that CFO, Robert C. Flexon, left to become president and CEO of Foster Wheeler USA. Gerald Luterman is serving as interim CFO during the replacement process. Luterman, an NRG board member, served for 8 years as CFO of KeySpan Corp.


In Memoriam: Robert W. Beckwith, founder of Beckwith Electric Co., passed away on Oct. 25, 2009.

Bruce Wasserstein, chairman and CEO of Lazard, died on Oct. 14, 2009. Steven Golub, vice chairman, was named interim CEO.


Boards of Directors: Minnesota Power parent Allete announced that James S. Haines, Jr. joined its board. He is former CEO and director of Westar Energy and former CEO, president and director of El Paso Electric.

FPL Group announced William H. Swanson was appointed to its board. He is chairman and CEO of Raytheon.

Central Vermont Public Service announced the appointment of two independent directors. John M. Goodrich is v.p. of power-Americas at Weidmann Electrical Technology. Elisabeth B. Robert is appointed as an advisory director and is CEO of Terry Precision Cycling.

Southern Co. elected Henry Clark III to its board. Clark is a senior advisor with Lexicon Partners.

Xcel Energy elected three new board members. Kim Williams is a retired partner at Wellington Management. Christopher J. Policinski is president and CEO of Land O’Lakes. Benjamin G.S. Fowke III is president and COO of Xcel Energy.

Chesapeake Utilities, upon completion of its merger with Florida Public Utilities (FPU), appointed two members of the FPU board to the Chesapeake board. Dennis S. Hudson III is chairman and CEO of Seacoast National Bank and Paul L. (Jay) Maddock, Jr. is a trustee and president of The Maddock Companies.


We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: