Fortnightly Magazine - September 15 2000

Dennis Lane was appointed solicitor for the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Lane had been a partner with Morrison & Hecker since February 1993. He replaced Jay Witkin, who retired.

ISO New England Inc. has appointed Gordon van Welie to executive vice president and COO, effective Sept. 1. He most recently was vice president and general manger of the Power Systems Control division of Siemens Power Transmission & Distribution Inc.

Dr. Mildred S. Dresselhaus has been confirmed as the Department of Energy's director of the Office of Science. Among her many accomplishments, Dresselhaus is a National Medal of Science recipient and served on the DOE's Energy Research Advisory Board.

Todd Pruitt, a route driver at Chesapeake Utilities subsidiary Sharp Water, received the utility's first Chesapeake Humanitarian Award. The award was created to recognize Pruitt's dedication when, while on duty as captain of the Salisbury Fire Department, he rescued a mentally challenged epileptic woman from her burning home.

TXU has named Robert G. McCoy president of the TXU Energy Services unit. McCoy joined TXU from GTE, where he was president-retail markets.

EES North America

Philip Curtis has been appointed president and CEO of EPRIsolutions, a for-profit subsidiary of EPRI that facilitates applications of EPRI technologies. Curtis previously was general manager of ABB Energy Information Systems.

The board of the Electric Power Supply Association has named Lynne H. Church president of EPSA. Previously, she was a partner in a Washington, D.C. energy law firm, and had served as treasurer and associate general counsel with Baltimore Gas & Electric.

Commodore Gas & Electric announced several appointments in July. The utility named Jeffrey Booser manager of energy distribution systems; Mark Butta vice president in the Youngstown, Ohio, office; Andrew C. Foyle senior account manager; and Diane M. Sanfilippo administrative coordinator.

Entergy has named Nancy Morovich vice president of investor relations. Morovich replaced E. Renae Conley, who recently was named president and CEO of Entergy Louisiana. Arthur E.F. Wiese Jr. has been appointed vice president of corporate communications. He replaces Phil Miracle, who was to retire Sept. 1.

Utility.Com has expanded its executive team. Paul Falchi has been promoted to president and COO; Wade C. Malcolm has been hired as vice president of e-commerce development, and Benjamin T. Reyes has been brought on as general counsel.

Carl W. Porter in July resigned from his duties as company president and COO of Semco Energy Inc. William L. Johnson, chairman and CEO, resumed the duties of president.

Energy.Com has appointed Michael Truong to director of operations. Previously, Truong was director of accounting and business support services for UtiliCorp United's retail energy group.

Louis E. Buck Jr. has joined ConEdison Solutions as vice president and CFO. Buck is the former senior director at Walker Interactive Systems and past CAO at Entergy Corp.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a photograph. Send to:

People Editor, Public Utilities Fortnightly
8229 Boone Boulevard, Suite 401
Vienna, Va. 22182


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.