People (June 1, 2002)

Fortnightly Magazine - June 1 2002

´╗┐Former U.S. Senator Slade Gorton has joined the board of directors of the Electricity Innovation Institute (E2I). E2I also named current board members Susan Tierney to serve as chairperson, and Linda Stuntz to serve as vice chair.

The National Hydropower Association presented Senator Larry Craig (R-ID) with its Legislator of the Year award for his efforts to achieve effective and fair hydropower legislation.

The New York Power Authority honored Shalom Zelingher, director, and Misak Krikorian, senior engineer, of the research and technology development unit of NYPA, for their leadership in the development of a device for detecting problems in hydroelectric power generators. The device, named the HydroTrac, was developed under the auspices of the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI). Zelingher and Krikorian also received the 2001 Technology Transfer Award from EPRI for their work on the project.

EPRI appointed Clark W. Gellings to the position of vice president of power delivery and utilization sector. Gellings joined EPRI in1982 and succeeds Dr. Karl Stahikopf, who has accepted a senior management position with Hawaiian Electric Company (HECO), an EPRI member utility.
Victor H. Ransom was appointed by the NRC to its independent advisory committee on reactor safeguards. Dr. Ransom is retired from the Purdue University School of Nuclear Engineering.

Former FERC commissioner Matthew Holden Jr. has retired as the Henry L. and Grace M. Doherty Professor of Politics at the University of Virginia, where he has been a faculty member since 1981. His post-retirement plans include continuing his studies in the inter-penetration of politics and economics, especially in the reorganization of the electric power industry, as well as a book on regulatory policy and practice from the perspective of a former FERC and Wisconsin PSC commissioner.

Conoco and Phillips Petroleum announced the following management changes that will take place after their proposed merger. James J. Mulva, current chairman and CEO of Phillips will become president and CEO of ConocoPhillips. Philip L. Frederickson, senior vice president of corporate strategy and business development for Conoco, will become executive vice president, commercial. Gene L. Batchelder, vice president and CIO for Phillips, will become senior vice president and CIO. Thomas C. Knudson, vice president of human resources, information management, and corporate communications for Conoco will become senior vice president of government affairs and communications. Joseph C. High, vice president of human resources and services for Phillips, will become vice president of human resources. Robert A. Ridge, vice president of health, environment, and safety for Phillips will continue in that role in the new company. Rob McKee, executive vice president exploration and production for Conoco will become executive vice president E&P. Jim Nokes, executive vice president of refining, marketing, supply, and transportation for Conoco, will continue in this position in the new company. John A. Carrig, senior vice president and CFO for Phillips, will become executive vice president of finance and CFO. Rick Harrington, senior vice president, legal, and general counsel for Conoco, will continue in this position in the new company.

Gay Friedman, senior vice president for legislative affairs and secretary of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America (INGAA), announced her retirement after 11 years with the association. The current director of legislative affairs, Martin E. Edwards III, has been named her successor.

The Midwest Independent Transmission System Operator (MISO) named Alex J. DeBoissiere to the position of vice president, chief regulator and legislative officer. He will manage MISO's federal activities from the company's newly formed Washington, D.C. office.

ExxonMobil Gas Marketing Company has announced three senior management appointments. Roberta A. Luxbacher will become director, Europe Gas Marketing, for ExxonMobil International Ltd. J.J. Kelly will become vice president, Americas, EMGMC. And William M. Colton will become vice president, Asia Pacific, EMGMC. Luxbacher joined Exxon in 1978 as a sales associate. Kelly joined Mobil in 1980. Colton joined Exxon in 1975 as a project manager.