We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a Color Photograph. Send to:
Fortnightly Magazine - October 1 2002

William J. Froehlich has been appointed director of the re-established Office of Administrative Litigation at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Froehlich has been an attorney with FERC since 1975. As the head of the office, Froehlich will report directly to FERC Chairman Pat Wood III and the commissioners.

Exelon Power has named Preston D. Swafford to be vice president at the company. In his new role, he will oversee Exelon Power's operations in Pennsylvania, Maryland, Illinois, and Texas. Swafford served previously as site vice president of Exelon Nuclear's Dresden Generating Station in Illinois.

EES North America

Dale E. Heydlauff has been named senior vice president, government and environmental affairs, for American Electric Power (AEP). Heydlauff succeeds Thomas Hagan, who was recently named executive vice president, shared services, for AEP. In his new role, Heydlauff will oversee AEP's 11 state offices, which provide community, customer, and government relations services, and will supervise the company's Washington, D.C. office.

Allegheny Energy announced two management changes. Michael Morrell, president of Allegheny Energy Supply Co., will assume direct responsibility for all energy trading and related activities within Allegheny Energy Supply. Morrell replaces David Gordon. In addition, Thomas J. Kalup was named vice president of origination and trading for the trading division.

Samuel L. Miller has been named executive vice president and COO of NiSource. Miller was formerly a partner at Accenture, with experience in redesigning, implementing, and managing business operations.

Terrence Kurtz has joined Solomon Associates. Kurtz is the new vice president of power generation, and has over 30 years of energy industry experience.

Linda Walker Bynoe has been appointed to the board of Dynegy. She currently manages a private equity investment portfolio and is a principal in Telemat, Ltd., a privately held project management and consulting firm. Dynegy also announced a new organizational approach to the role of its CFO, and made new appointments. Louis Dorey, who served as CFO for two months, will assume the role of executive vice president, finance. Hugh Tarpley will lead a newly created corporate development department. Michael Mott has been promoted to senior vice president, chief accounting officer, in addition to the title of controller.

Richard C. (Dick) Kelly has been named CFO at Xcel Energy. He will retain his positions as president and COO of Xcel's power generation subsidiary, NRG Energy.

DPL, whose subsidiaries include Dayton Power & Light Co., announced several management changes. Stephen F. Koziar has been appointed executive vice president and COO. H. Ted Santo, group vice president, power production, will be retiring, effective at the end of the year. Santo is a 33-year veteran of the company. W. Steven Wolff will take over Santo's duties, and will also be responsible for fuel procurement, wholesale energy, and dispatch and purchasing.

Bruce V. Miller has joined the law firm of Wolf, Block, Schorr and Solis-Cohen as counsel in the utility regulation group. He will be based in the firm's New York office. Miller has 27 years of experience in public utility law, and has represented electric, gas, telephone and water companies and municipal utilities in rate and investigatory proceedings. Prior to joining Wolf, Block, he was at LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae.

Donald C. Hintz, president of the Entergy Corporation, has been elected chairman of the Nuclear Energy Institute. He had been vice chairman of the NEI board. Hintz was selected as the new chairman of the organization's board of directors and executive committee following Christian Poindexter's retirement as chairman of both Constellation Energy Group and NEI.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a Color Photograph. Send to:

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 400
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182

Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.