We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a Color Photograph. Send to:
Fortnightly Magazine - February 1 2003

California Gov. Gray Davis named Michael Peevey president of the state's PUC, replacing Loretta Lynch. Lynch was expected to remain with the commission until the completion of her term, in January 2005. Peevey has served on the commission since March of 2002. He previously was president of Edison International. Davis also appointed Susan Kennedy commissioner, replacing Henry Duque.

Richard G. Newman, chairman and CEO of AECOM Technology Corp., joined the Sempra Energy board of directors.

PG&E Corp. appointed Leslie S. Biller as advisory director of its board of directors and the board of directors of utility subsidiary Pacific Gas and Electric Co. Biller recently retired as vice chairman and chief operating officer of Wells Fargo & Co.

EES North America

Exelon's board of directors approved the promotion of former Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) Chair Elizabeth Moler to executive vice president of government and environmental affairs, and public policy.

Angela Speir took the oath of office as commissioner at the Georgia Public Service Commission.

Westar Energy Inc. named William B. Moore as its chief operating officer and executive vice president. James S. Haines Jr. is the company's new director, CEO, and president, following the resignation of Douglas Lake, Westar's executive vice president and chief strategic officer. Moore spent 22 years with Westar before leaving in 2000. Haines comes to Westar from El Paso Electric Co. in El Paso, Texas. The Westar board of directors also elected Charles Chandler IV as its new chairman.

W. Scott Miller III assumed the newly created position of executive director of market applications at the PJM Interconnection. Miller will represent PJM to other players. He previously served as senior adviser on markets in FERC's Office of Markets, Tariffs and Rates. Prior to that, he was FERC's director of energy markets, overseeing wholesale electric and natural gas markets.

Tim Raburn is the new vice president of origination at ConocoPhillips. He comes to ConocoPhillips after 22 years with Aquila Inc.

Bennett L. Gaines moved over from Powergen plc to become vice president and chief technology officer of Cinergy Co., effective Jan. 13. Gaines has also worked for EDS Corp. and IBM Corp.

Nicor shuffled some staff, naming Rocco D'Alessandro senior vice president of operations for Nicor Gas. Anthony McCain moves to vice president of distribution, and James L. Griffin becomes assistant vice president of customer services. Claudia Colalillo was appointed senior vice president of human resources and corporate communications for Nicor, and senior vice president of human resources and customer care for Nicor Gas. Daniel Dodge becomes senior vice president of diversified ventures and corporate planning for both Nicor and Nicor Gas.

Noble Energy named David L. Stover vice president of business development, responsible for new business opportunities as well as managing global acquisition and divestiture activities. Stover previously was BP vice president, Gulf of Mexico shelf.

Michael J. Dalton, president and CEO of Unitil, announced he would retire on April 1, ending a 35-year career with the company.

Joel Richards retired as executive vice president of administration at El Paso Corp. David E. Zerhusen will handle Richards' duties.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a Color Photograph. Send to:

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 400
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.