Fortnightly Magazine - April 15 2003


The Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, by an 18-2 vote, approved Joseph T. Kelliher's nomination to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission. Kelliher's approval follows his second nomination by President Bush. Bush also nominated New Mexico attorney Suedeen G. Kelly to fill the remainder of a five-year term expiring June 30, 2004.

The California Senate, by a vote of 32-3, confirmed Gov. Gray Davis' appointment of Michael R. Peevey as president of the state's Public Utility Commission. His term expires Dec. 31, 2008.


The Nuclear Energy Institute (NEI) shook up its organization, consolidating from eight divisions to six, repositioning several employees, and creating new management positions. Among the many changes, Senior Vice President Marvin Fertel becomes the institute's chief nuclear officer, while Jack Brons, special assistant to the president, becomes treasurer. NEI also brought over Westinghouse executives Mike Comisky and Don Cox as "loaned executives," according to the organization. Comisky was named NEI's senior director of member outreach, and Cox was named chief financial officer.

New Positions:

Carol F. Graebner replaces the retiring Kenneth E. Randolph as Dynegy's executive vice president and general counsel. Graebner comes to Dynegy from Duke Energy International.

Itron Inc. named Sharon Nelson, former president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and former chairman of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, to its board of directors. Nelson currently is director of the Shidler Center for Law, Commerce, and Technology at the University of Washington.

Energy Services company McDermott International Inc.'s subsidiary, J. Ray McDermott S.A., named Robert A. "Bob" Deason as its president and chief operating officer. Deason moves to J. Ray after 18 years with industrial company Fluor.

Constellation Energy Group subsidiary Constellation NewEnergy named David Bat vice president of Constellation NewEnergy's Texas region. Bat moves to Constellation from Chevron Energy Solutions.

The TRANSLink Management Development Corp. board of directors chose Kirk H. Edelman as its senior vice president and chief financial officer. The management development group is the predecessor to the group that will manage TRANSLink Transmission Co. Edelman most recently was a financial consultant to Midland, Texas-based Cap Rock Energy Corp.

The ONEOK board of directors named Billy Maxwell, Pat McDonie, and Scott Gentry as new officers at the company. Maxwell becomes senior vice president of the company's trading business; McDonie becomes the company's vice president for origination - West and new business development; and Gentry becomes vice president for gas trading. Gentry and Maxwell have been with ONEOK since 1995, McDonie since 1997.

NiSource subsidiary North Indiana Public Service Co. (NIPSCO) named William M. O'Malley vice president of finance. In his new role, O'Malley also will oversee the finances of Northern Indiana Fuel and Light Co. Inc. and Kokomo Gas and Fuel Co. O'Malley has been with NiSource since 1978.

KEMA Inc., consultants to the electric power industry, hired Dr. Ralph D. Masiello as senior vice president of Bulk Power Services. Masiello previously was executive vice president for development at Caminus.

Robert W. Goldman, formerly senior vice president of finance and chief financial officer for Conoco Inc., joined El Paso Corp.'s board of directors.


Richard Paprocki, New York metropolitan area manager of environmental compliance for the U.S. Postal Service, received the "Energy Excellence Award" from ConEdison Solutions. The company said it has worked with Paprocki since 1997 to save the Postal Service $6 million and to decrease energy consumption by 44 million kilowatt-hours.


Dynegy Senior Vice President and Controller Mike Mott resigned from the company for personal reasons.

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 400
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182

Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.