New Positions:
Fortnightly Magazine - June 1 2003

New Positions:

Virginia's State Corporation Commission (SCC) named Howard M. Spinner as director of its Division of Economics and Finance, replacing Richard J. Williams. Williams is retiring after 22 years with the commission. Spinner has been with the SCC since 1998.

The Western Electricity Coordinating Council board of directors elected Jack L. King as its chair and Ronald D. Nunnally and Tim Newton as vice chairs.

Dynegy named three new directors: David W. Biegler, formerly vice chairman of TXU Corp. and currently chairman of the American Gas Foundation; Patricia A. Hammick, a Washington, D.C.-based consultant who formerly was senior vice president of strategy and communications for Columbia Energy Group; and William L. Trubeck, executive vice president of Waste Management Inc.'s Western Group and former senior vice president and CFO of International Multifoods.

Shareholders of Unitil Corp. elected Robert G. Schoenberger, Charles H. Tenney III, and Dr. Sarah P. Voll to the company's board of directors. Each will serve a three-year term. Schoenberger is Unitil's chairman and CEO.

Allegheny Energy Inc. named Jay Pifer as its interim CEO and president while it carries on a search for a permanent replacement for Alan J. Noia, the company's retiring president, chairman and CEO. The company also appointed former Federal Energy Commission Chairman James J. Hoecker as Allegheny's lead director.

Pepco Holdings Inc. elected Dennis R. Wraase president and CEO, replacing John M. Derrick, who retired. Wraase has worked for Pepco since 1974.

Williams named Donald R. Chappel as its senior vice president and CFO, hiring him away from a development business in Chicago. Chappel's previous experience also includes time as CFO of Waste Management Inc.

Entergy named Robert D. Sloan as the replacement for Michael G. Thompson, the company's retiring senior vice president, general counsel, and secretary. Sloan previously was vice president and general counsel at GE Industrial Systems. The company also named Jerald V. Halvorsen as vice president of government affairs, heading up the company's Washington, D.C., government relations office. Halvorsen, set to retire later this year as president of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America, succeeds Henry Brown Jr. in his role at Entergy. Lastly, Entergy President Donald C. Hintz was elected to the Electric Power Research Inc. board of directors.

Doug Henry returned to Westar Energy Inc. as the company's vice president of power delivery. Henry held the same position until leaving Westar for Davies Consulting in November 2001.

SCANA Corp. appointed Sharon Jenkins as senior vice president of marketing and communications. Jenkins moves over to SCANA from Motorola, where she was vice president and director of marketing for the wireless and broadband systems group.

Alexis Herman, former Clinton administration labor secretary, joined the Entergy board of directors, replacing Dr. Norman Francis.

President Bush nominated Allyson Duncan, PJM's regulatory liaison to the North Carolina Utilities Commission and the Virginia State Corporation Commission, to the Fourth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals.


Paul Donovan, executive vice president and CFO of Wisconsin Energy Corp., will step down early next year. Donovan will relinquish his title of CFO on June 30 but will remain with the company as a special advisor to CEO Richard A. Abdoo until Donovan's retirement.

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 400
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182

Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.