New Opportunities:
New Opportunities:
Fortnightly Magazine - August 2004


New Opportunities:

EES North America

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission appointed Joseph H. McClelland director of its Division of Reliability in the Office of Markets, Tariffs, and Rates. McClelland is general manager of the Custer Public Power District in Nebraska.

Colorado Gov. Bill Owens appointed Carl Miller , a state representative, to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC). The reports that Miller cannot seek re-election because of term limits.

Elaine Ziemba is the new federal af-fairs representative for CMS Energy. Zi-emba's 20 years of government relations experience includes time with NRG Energy Inc., Northern States Power Co., and American Gas Association.

Carl L. English joined American Electric Power (AEP) as president of AEP Utilities. John B. Keane joined AEP as president, general counsel, and secretary.

George Earle was elected to his third 1-year term as president of the U.S. Fuel Cell Council. Earle is the director of hydrogen infrastructure for Plug Power Inc.

Mirant named Curt Morgan executive vice president and COO of the company, and the company hired Terry Thompson as vice president of restructuring. Morgan previously was executive vice president of Mirant's North American operations; Thompson was director of treasury and business development at Delta Airlines Inc.

The Pennsylvania PUC appointed Deputy Executive Director Karen O. Moury as acting executive director, and it approved the transfer of Executive Director Veronica A. Smith to chief administrative law judge for the PUC.

The DTE Energy board of directors named Gerard Anderson president of the company. Anderson, with the company since 1993, moves up from his role as president and COO of DTE Energy's Energy Resources unit.

NewEnergy Associates appointed William P. McCarrick as vice president, sales. McCarrick's previous positions include roles with SunGard Energy Systems and Henwood Energy Services Inc.


Elizabeth S. Robertson , director of the energy resources division at the Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority (GEFA), and Faramarz Vakili-Zadeh , associate director of physical plant at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, received the Energy Efficiency Forum's Public Service Award in June.

Shuffle Board:

The Sempra Energy board of directors elected Donald E. Felsinger president, COO, and director at the company. Sempra also elected Neal E. Schmale to its board. Schmale is Sempra's executive vice president and CFO.

Wayne Brunetti , chairman and CEO of Xcel Energy Inc., was elected chairman of the Edison Electric Institute. EEI's other incoming chairs are AEP CEO Michael G. Morris , who was elected first vice-chairman, and Cinergy CEO James E. Rogers , who was elected second vice-chairman.

The National Regulatory Research Institute (NRRI) elected Carol J. Murphy to her second 1-year term as board chair. Murphy is a commissioner on the New Jersey Board of Public Utilities.


Chris C. Richardson , former chairman, president, and CEO of the Schneider Electric North American Operating Division, was appointed to the Schneider Electric board of directors.

Jeff Rankin , president of TECO Transport, a TECO Energy Inc. subsidiary, will retire Sept. 1. He will be replaced by Sal Litrico , president of TECO Ocean Shipping.


Jessie Roberson resigned as assistant secretary for environmental management at the Department of