Fortnightly Magazine - June 2005

New Opportunities: Exelon appointed Tom Ridge and Dr. William C. Richardson to its board of directors. Ridge is the former Secretary of the United States Department of Homeland Security and a former governor of Pennsylvania. Richardson is president and CEO of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and was previously president of The Johns Hopkins University.

The board of directors of the National Association of Local Government Environmental Professionals (NALGEP) named Paul Connor as executive director and Bridget Thorsen Stesney as deputy director. Connor joins NALGEP following a career at U.S. EPA.

Market Power & Market Manipulation - PUR Books

Silver Spring Networks announced that Thomas R. Kuhn, president of the Edison Electric Institute, and Corbin A. McNeill Jr., retired chairman and co-CEO of Exelon Corp., have joined the company's board of directors.

NiSource Inc. has restructured its leadership team. Jerry Godwin became senior vice president, Electric Generation and Transmission, for Northern Indiana Public Service Company (NIPSCO). Godwin previously was vice president of electric generation and transmission, and COO of NIPSCO. Harris Marple became senior vice president, distribution operations. Marple previously was vice president of pipeline operations for NiSource's Pipeline Group. Kathleen O'Leary became senior vice president, energy distribution- regulated revenue. O'Leary also will remain president of Columbia Gas of Virginia, a NiSource subsidiary. And Violet Sistovaris became senior vice president, administrative services. Sistovaris previously was vice president, Customer Contact Centers, and will retain her leadership role with NiSource's five Customer Contact Centers.

The Electric Power Supply Association (EPSA) named current EPSA Vice President of Legislative Affairs Eugene F. Peters Jr. acting president. Peters will retain his legislative responsibilities and will manage both functions during the search to replace former president Lynne H. Church.

Great Plains Energy named John Marshall as senior vice president of delivery for Kansas City Power & Light and Barbara Curry as senior vice president, corporate services and corporate secretary. Marshall previously was senior vice president, customer services, at TVA. Curry previously was executive vice president for global human resources and senior vice president for retail operations with TXU Corp.

Hydro-Québec appointed André Caillé chairman of its board of directors and Thierry Vandal as president and CEO of the company. Vandal had been president of Hydro-Québec Production since June 2001 and a Hydro-Québec senior executive since 1996.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (PUC) Chairman Wendell F. Holland recently was named president of the Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utilities Commissioners, made up of utility regulators from Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, the Virgin Islands, Virginia and West Virginia.


Thos. E. Capps, chairman of the board and CEO of Dominion, announced that he would relinquish his CEO title within one year. Capps designated Thomas F. Farrell II, president and COO, as his successor. Gary L. Neale will retire June 30, 2005, as NiSource CEO, but will continue to serve as chairman of the NiSource board of directors. Robert C. Skaggs Jr., NiSource president, will assume the additional responsibilities as NiSource CEO.



PUR Guide - utility management training program




Articles found on this page are available to subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.