Fortnightly Magazine - June 2006

New Opportunities: Mirant Corp. appointed Jose (Joey) P. Leviste Jr. as chairman, president, and CEO of Mirant Philippines, and as a senior vice president of Mirant Corp. He previously served as vice chairman and treasurer of the Philippine Associated Smelting and Refining Corp. and president and CEO of the Philippine National Oil Co.’s FILOIL Development and Management Corp.

Ian C. Connor joined Goldman Sachs in 2006 as a managing director in its Power & Energy Group, where he specializes in mergers and acquisitions. Prior to joining Goldman Sachs, Connor was a managing director at Lazard.

Unitil Corp. shareholders elected Robert G. Schoenberger, Charles H. Tenney III, and Dr. Sarah P. Voll to its board of directors for three-year terms.

Piedmont Natural Gas announced several changes in the company’s executive management team. Jane Lewis-Raymond accepted a position with Piedmont as vice president and general counsel. Lewis-Raymond comes to Piedmont from the American Gas Association, where she was vice president of regulatory affairs.

Kim R. Cocklin, senior vice president, general counsel and chief compliance officer, has accepted an executive leadership position with Atmos Energy and will be leaving May 1, 2006. Kevin M. O’Hara, vice president of business development and ventures, has been promoted to the newly created position of senior vice president of corporate and community affairs. Michael H. Yount accepted a position with Piedmont as senior vice president – utility operations. Yount formerly was vice president and consultant for the Senn-Delaney Leadership Consulting Group.

Electric Power Research Institute elected new board members. Jeff Sterba of Public Service Co. of New Mexico will serve as chair; Robert W. Fri of Resources for the Future is now vice chair. The board’s new members (with company affiliation) are Anthony J. Ahern, Buckeye Power Inc.; Yves Bamberger, Electricité de France; W. Paul Bowers, Southern Co.; Michael J. Chesser, Great Plains Energy; Takuya Hattori, Tokyo Electric Power Co.; Seth D. Hulkower, Long Island Power Authority; James H. Miller, PPL Corp.; Mark T. Savoff, Entergy Corp.; J.M. Shafer, Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association Inc.; Richard H. Silverman, Salt River Project; James L. Turner, Duke Energy Corp.; and Steven J. Lennon, Eskom.

Airtricity Inc. appointed immediate past chairman of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Pat Wood III, as chairman of the company’s North American Advisory Board. Wood will provide strategic policy and market development guidance to Airtricity’s North American operations.

Sempra Energy’s board of directors promoted Joseph A. Householder to senior vice president, controller, and chief tax counsel. He also will serve as the company’s chief accounting officer.


Retired: Glenn Ross, director, energy delivery, retired from Dominion Resources May 1, after 34 years of service. In addition to his work at Dominion, Glenn is a past chair of the NERC Planning Committee and of the EEI System Planning Committee.

Ray B. Killough, senior vice president – utility operations at Piedmont Natural Gas, retired from the company May 1 after 33 years of service. Richard A. Linville, vice president of human resources, also retired May 1. Linville has been with Piedmont since 1997.


Awarded: ConEdison Solutions honored Dominic Giangrasso, director of its Information Technology department, with the company’s 2005 President’s Award.