Fortnightly Magazine - February 2007

New Opportunities: The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) appointed Bryan Hannegan vice president for environment research and development (R&D). Hannegan joined EPRI in September and served as the managing director for environment R&D. Prior to his arrival, Hannegan served in dual capacity as the chief of staff at the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ), and as an acting special assistant to the president for economic policy.

The National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners hired Rob Thormeyer as its new media and public affairs coordinator. He joins NARUC after eight years as a trade reporter.

PNGC Power, a Portland-based power services cooperative, named John Prescott senior vice president of power supply. Prescott most recently served as power supply and environmental affairs officer at Seattle City Light, and before that spent 23 years with Idaho Power Co. in various positions, most recently as vice president of power supply.

Nora Mead Brownell joined the Comverge Inc. board of directors. Brownell served a five-year term at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Van Ness Feldman P.C. said John H. Clements joined the firm’s Washington, D.C., office as Of Counsel. Clements previously served for 27 years at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, most recently as senior attorney for energy projects.

The Midwest Independent Transmission System Operator Inc. announced the election of two new members to its board of directors: Michael J. Curran, chairman and CEO of the Boston Stock Exchange; and Eugene W. Zeltmann, former president and CEO of the New York Power Authority. Each will serve a three-year term.

Energen Corp. named James T. McManus II a director of Energen and its two operating units. McManus, who earlier this year was named president and COO of Energen, will stand for re-election to the Energen board of directors in April 2007. McManus also serves as president of Energen Resources. McManus joined Energen in 1986 and served in numerous financial and strategic planning capacities before being named president and COO of Energen Resources in 1997.

The Arizona Public Service (APS) board of directors elected Donald Brandt to the position of president. He will continue in his capacity as APS’ CFO and Pinnacle West’s executive vice president and CFO. Brandt joined APS in 2002.

NRG Energy Inc. named Drew Murphy as executive vice president and general counsel, and appointed John Ragan as executive vice president and regional president, Northeast. Murphy comes to NRG from the law firm of Hunton & Williams, where he was partner in charge of its energy practice. Ragan joined NRG from FPL Energy, where he was vice president of trading, transmission, and operations.


Retired: Entergy New Orleans (ENO) announced that Daniel F. Packer, its president and CEO since 1996, retired effective Jan. 1, 2007. Packer will continue to serve as Entergy New Orleans’ chairman until after the company exits bankruptcy. Roderick K. West, ENO’s director of metro distribution operations, assumed Packer’s position as president and CEO.

Jim Levine, chief nuclear officer and executive vice president for APS Generation, has decided to retire after 17 years of service to APS. Levine will remain in his current position until the search for a new senior vice president and chief nuclear officer is completed.