Fortnightly Magazine - February 15 2000

Vicky A. Bailey, a member of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, has left the FERC to serve as president of Cinergy Corp.'s PSI Energy Inc. unit in Indiana. Bailey served on the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission before joining FERC in 1993.

Janet Gail Besser, chair of the Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Energy for two years and a board member since 1995, resigned in December. She was to join consultant Lexecon Inc. in March.

SEMCO ENERGY Inc. named Barrett Hatches president of ENSTAR Natural Gas Co. He succeeds Richard Barnes. Hatches previously was senior vice president of human resources and public affairs for SEMCO.

Raymond Hayward, general counsel for the Southern Minnesota Municipal Power Agency, was named the co-op's chief executive officer. He replaced Kimball Rasmussen, who was named CEO and general manager for Deseret Generation & Transmission Cooperative in his home state of Utah.

New West Energy named Robert S. Nichols its managing director. Nichols had served as the company's director of finance since its incorporation in 1997.

NiSource Inc. subsidiary EnergyUSA named Donald Eldert president of EnergyUSA Commercial Energy Services. He also continues to serve as a vice president of EnergyUSA. John McGuire was appointed vice president of EnergyUSA customer relations and strategic business development. He previously was vice president and general manager of SavageALERT Inc. and EnergyUSA Commercial.

Andrew "Larry" Grant, a 35-year employee with Southern California Edison, was elected the utility's vice president of transmission. Grant held various management positions within SCE's distribution and customer service divisions before joining the transmission division in 1990.

Peter Lowe was named senior vice president and chief financial officer of UtiliCorp United. Lowe previously was the company's vice president, financial management and accounting services.

Madison Gas & Electric Co. named Scott A. Neitzel vice president of gas rates and fuels. He joined the company in 1997 as assistant vice president of gas rates and fuels. James G. Bidlingmaier became vice president of administration and chief information officer. He has held various positions in information management systems and customer services since joining MG&E in 1972. Mark A. Frankel was named vice president, general counsel and secretary.

Nicholas J. Ashooh was named senior vice president of corporate communications for American Electric Power. He succeeds Luke Feck, who retired Feb. 1 after a decade with AEP. Ashooh is the former vice president for communications and government relations at Niagara Mohawk.

Nicor appointed William A. Osborn to its board. Osborn is a chairman and CEO of Northern Trust Corp. and its principal subsidiary, the Northern Trust Co.

Cuba Wadlington Jr. assumed the role of president and CEO of the gas pipeline unit of Williams. He succeeds Brian E. O'Neill, who retired Jan. 1. Wadlington previously served as executive vice president and chief operating officer of Williams' gas pipeline unit and senior vice president and general manager of Williams Gas Pipeline-Transco.

The board of governors of the California Power Exchange promoted John Yurkanin to executive vice president and COO. Yurkanin has served as COO of the CalPX since 1998. Previously, he was senior vice president for marketing and operations at Louisville Gas & Electric Energy Corp.


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.