Fortnightly Magazine - October 15 2001

The New York Power Authority recently announced that Shalom Zelingher, director of research and technology development, was chosen by his peers at EPRI to receive the 2000 Product Champion Award for his work on NYPA's convertible static compensator, which will permit increased power flows on existing transmission lines.

EPRI has announced the selection of the board of directors for the newly founded Electricity Innovation Institute (E2I). Named to the board are: Ralph Cavanagh, co-director of the energy program at the National Resources Defense Council; Vic Fazio, former member of Congress and now senior partner at Clark & Weinstock; Richard R. Grigg, president and COO of Wisconsin Electric Power; Shirley Jackson, president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Linda Stuntz, former deputy secretary of the Department of Energy; Susan Tierney, former assistant secretary for policy at the Department of Energy and now senior vice president at Lexecon; Mason Willrich, senior advisor at Nth Power Technologies; and Kurt E. Yeager, president and CEO, EPRI. T.J. Glauthier is the president and CEO of E2I, with Henry J. Courtright, vice president of generation and distributed resources at EPRI, as vice president and COO.

R. Martin Chavez has been appointed to the PNM board of directors. Chavez is chairman and CEO of Kiodex Inc. a technology and services company that provides Web-based solutions to companies and global exchanges.

Utilicorp United announced that Dale J. Wolf retired at the end of August after nearly 40 years with the company. Wolf had been vice president of finance, treasurer, and corporate secretary since 1989. Randal P. Miller has been named treasurer and vice president, finance; and Leslie J. Parrette Jr., senior vice president and general counsel, will assume the additional duties of corporate secretary. Previously, Miller was CFO of United Energy, an Australian utility which is managed and 34 percent owned by Utilicorp. In addition, Gerald L. Shaheen, group president at Caterpillar Inc., has been named to the company's board of directors, increasing the number of directors to nine. Dan Streek has become Utilicorp's interim CFO, succeeding Peter Lowe, who is returning to Australia after completing a two-year assignment in the US, where he will become the company's managing director for Australia.

The Utility Economic Development Association (UEDA) recently elected the following officers to two-year terms: president: Norman Carter, manager economic development for Pepco; vice president: Timothy Comerford, manager, area development for Public Service Electric and Gas Co.; secretary: Nancy Norr, manager for economic development for Minnesota Power; treasurer: Joseph T. Geddie, manager of economic development for Progress Energy. Two new members were elected to two-year terms: Joseph Russo, director of business expansion and attraction at Niagara Mohawk; and Frank Urtasun, manager regional & governmental public affairs for San Diego Gas & Electric. Re-elected to two-year terms on the board were Mark James, director of economic development for American Electric Power; George W. Lofton, economic development director for ComEd; Lisa Payne, economic development executive at LG&E Corp.; Stan Thomas, director of business planning and growth for Sierra Pacific Power Co.; and Rebecca Wingenroth, director of economic development for GPU Energy.

Allete Inc. has appointed James K. Vizanko chief financial officer. Vizanko joined the company in 1977 and was elected a vice president in April. Allete also announced that David G. Gartzke has been named president and elected to the board of directors. Currently, Gartzke is senior vice president of finance and CFO. He succeeds Edwin L. Russell, who stepped down as president, CEO, and chairman.

We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a Photograph. Send to:

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 401
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.