People (September 2009)

Fortnightly Magazine - September 2009

New Opportunities: NiSource named M. Carol Fox as president of Columbia Gas of Pennsylvania (CPA) and Columbia Gas of Maryland (CMD). Fox was senior vice president of Customer Engagement for NiSource. Terry Murphy, previous president of CPA/CMD, will transition into retirement early next year.

TECO Energy promoted Gordon L. Gillette to president for both Tampa Electric and Peoples Gas, from his position as executive v.p.-finance and CFO, and president of TECO Guatemala. Phil L. Barringer was named president of TECO Guatemala and v.p., human resources from v.p. and controller, operations. Sandra W. Callahan is named v.p., finance and accounting and CFO from v.p., treasury and risk management. Charles A. Attal III continues as senior v.p., general counsel and chief legal officer, but adds responsibility for state and federal governmental affairs. Deirdre A. Brown is named v.p., business strategy and compliance and chief ethics and compliance officer from v.p., customer service and regulatory affairs.

American Transmission elected Michael Hofbauer v.p., CFO and treasurer from interim CFO.

Consolidated Edison promoted Robert Muccilo to v.p. and controller, succeeding the retiring Edward J. Rasmussen. Muccilo joined ConEd in 1978.

PG&E Corp. promoted Christopher P. Johns to president of Pacific Gas and Electric from senior v.p. and CFO. Kent Harvey will succeed Johns as CFO, from v.p. and chief risk and audit officer. Nicholas Bijur, senior director, has assumed Johns’ responsibilities as treasurer. Bijur was assistant treasurer.

Falcon Gas Storage appointed Antoine LaFargue as CFO. He was with Arcapita and served two years on Falcon’s board.

Constellation Energy appointed Elizabeth (Betsy) E. Cadwallader as v.p., credit risk management. She was managing director at J.P. Morgan.

Duke Energy named Andrea Bertone the new president of Duke Energy International (DEI) from DEI general counsel, replacing Richard McGee, who left the company. Keith Trent, group executive and chief strategy, policy and regulatory officer, was named group executive and president of Duke’s commercial businesses. Jim Turner, group executive, president and COO for U.S. franchised electric and gas, assumed expanded responsibilities. Dhiaa Jamil, group executive and chief nuclear officer (CNO), was named group executive and chief generation officer, while retaining the title of CNO.

Arthur D. Little announced Joseph L. Coote is the firm’s new global energy & chemicals practice leader.

UGI Corp. announced that John Walsh, president and COO of UGI and vice chairman of UGI Utilities, is named president and CEO of UGI Utilities.

Oglethorpe Power Corp. named Charles W. (Chuck) Whitney as senior v.p. and general counsel.

Concept Capitol announced that William F. Hederman joined as senior energy policy analyst. He was founding director of FERC’s Office of Market Oversight and Investigations (now Office of Enforcement).

Tantalus Systems Corp. selected Eric Murray as president and CEO. He has been with the company since 2003.


Boards of Directors: CMS Energy elected Stephen E. Ewing to its board and the board of its Consumers Energy subsidiary. He was vice chairman, DTE Energy.

Cleco elected Peter Scott to its board. He was executive v.p. and CFO of Progress Energy.

SCANA elected Joshua W. Martin III to its board. He is a partner in the law firm of Potter Anderson & Corroon.


We welcome submissions to People, especially those accompanied by a high-resolution color photograph. E-mail to: