Fortnightly Magazine - April 1 1995

The Southern Company named A.W. (Bill) Dahlberg chairman and CEO in addition to his current duties as president. He succeeds Edward L. Addison, 65, who is retiring after 12 years as CEO and more than 40 years with the company. Dahlberg, 54, served as president since January 1, 1994. He began his career with The Southern Company at age 19 when he joined Georgia Power, a subsidiary, as a meter installer.

Ralph Johnson was named v.p., power resources, for the Texas-New Mexico Power Co. He also was elected v.p. of TNP Enterprises, the parent company. Johnson previously was assistant g.m. for Tri-State Generation & Transmission Association.

William J. Glasgow will step down as senior v.p. and CFO for PacifiCorp to form a specialized regional financial services company. Glasgow, associated with PacifiCorp for six years, will continue to provide consulting services to the company.

California Energy Co. Inc. promoted Frederick L. Manuel to v.p. and g.m. of its newly acquired Imperial Valley Geothermal Operations. Manuel, a mechanical engineer, previously managed the COSO geothermal project.

Yankee Energy System Inc. elected Mary J. Healey v.p., general counsel, and secretary for the parent company and subsidiaries. Healey, who joined the company in 1989, will be responsible for all company legal matters.

LG&E Power Inc. promoted B. Jeanine Hull to assistant general counsel. She joined LG&E in 1988 and served as v.p., environmental and regulatory affairs.

Hugh A. Shaffer was named v.p. for El Paso Field Services Co., a gathering and information services subsidiary of El Paso Natural Gas Co.

Illinova Power Marketing Inc., a subsidiary of Illinova Corp., named Thomas Rainwater v.p., marketing. Christine Raines was named director, systems operations, and D. Michael Feaster director, information systems.

Lon Waldinger was hired as g.m. of Entergy Corp.'s two-unit Arkansas Nuclear One power plant. He previously was g.m. of Northern States Power Co.'s Monticello station.

CMS Energy Corp. elected Kathleen R. Flaherty to its board of directors and to the board of its principal subsidiary, Consumers Power Co. Flaherty is senior v.p. of MCI Communications Corp.

Jack E. McGregor, president and CEO of Aquarion Co., a public water supply and environmental testing company, was elected to the board of directors of Bay State Gas Co.

Raymond Saleeby was named principal of the utilities industry general management practice at EDS Management Consulting Services. He previously was senior v.p., Stone & Webster Management Consultants.

CellNet Data Systems named Philip H. Mallory to head a new subsidiary, CellNet Data Services. He previously worked for CAE-Link Corp. Larsh Johnson, a co-founder of the company, assumed additional duties as chief technology officer. Robert Hayes was promoted to v.p., development.

Michael H. Bullington joined Mission First Financial, a subsidiary of SCEcorp, as managing director, infrastructure investment.

First Pacific Networks Inc. named Rajiv Jaluria, COO, to the additional post of president, FPN International.

Norman D. Shumway, member of the California Public Utilities Commission, resigned his position on February 23. Shumway, a former congressman, served on the CPUC since February 12, 1991. Gov. Pete Wilson will name a replacement.

William R. Gillis, member of the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, was appointed to NARUC's Committee on Energy Conservation. Gillis was appointed to the WUTC in November 1994.

John H. Clements was named director, division of project review, for the Office of Hydropower Licensing at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Michael Baly, American Gas Association president, was elected to the additional position of CEO. Roger Cooper, previously A.G.A.'s deputy general counsel, was promoted to v.p., government relations group. t

Jay Copan, formerly v.p., industry finance and administration, will serve as group v.p., member programs and financial relations. Richard Kolodziej, a senior v.p., will serve as group v.p. for marketing, advertising, communications, and consumer and community affairs. A.G.A. also hired Gary W. Gardner as director, information systems. Bertram Kalisch joined as counsel, government relations, and Gregory D. Zilberfarb as director, natural gas vehicle marketing.

Charles B. Yulish was named v.p., corporate communications, for the U.S. Enrichment Corp. Yulish previously was executive v.p. and managing director of the E. Bruce Harrison Co. He began his career with the U.S. Atomic Energy Commission.

Dan Bart was promoted to the new position of v.p., standards and technology, to serve both the Electronic Industries Association and the Telecommunications Industry Association. Bart will retain his current responsibilities with TIA.

Allen Arvig, president of East Otter Tail Telephone Co. in Minnesota, was elected 1995 president of the Organization for the Protection and Advancement of Small Telephone Companies. Ed Dailor, secretary/ treasurer of North Penn Telephone Co. in Pennsylvania, was elected first v.p. Ed Eichler, president of Pigeon Telephone Co. in Michigan, was elected second v.p. Jay Mitchell, v.p., Seneca Telephone Co. in Missouri, was elected treasurer.

Michael Kreidler, a former Washington state legislator and U.S. representative, was appointed to the Northwest Power Planning Council by Washington Gov. Michael Lowry.

Dr. John F. Ahearne and Gerard F. Scannell will serve as co-chairs of the new Advisory Committee on External Regulation of Department of Energy Nuclear Safety. The committee is charged with improving DOE's nuclear safety programs. Ahearne is executive director of Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society, and past chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission. Scannell is president, National Safety Council. The committee's executive director will be Thomas H. Isaacs, a senior DOE official. Committee members include Victor A. Franklin, chief environmental counsel, Westinghouse Corp., and Dr. Andrew C. Kadak, president and CEO, Yankee Atomic Electric Co.

Stanley J. Bright, chairman of Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Co., was named to the board of UTILX Corp., an underground utility services company. t


Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.