Fortnightly Magazine - November 1 2002

Robert K. Green has resigned as president and CEO of Aquila, Inc. The board of directors has reassigned CEO duties to longtime chairman, Richard C. Green, Jr. Robert Green, the brother of Richard Green, will continue to work at Aquila over the next 18 months. Aquila also named Keith Stamm senior vice president and COO. Stamm held various positions at Aquila for almost 20 years and now will be responsible for domestic and international network operations, as well as sale of noncore assets. Mike Jonagan has been appointed senior vice president, capacity services. Jonagan will oversee the winding down of Aquila's energy trading business and manage non-regulated generation assets.

Progress Energy chairman, president, and CEO William Cavanaugh III extended his term as chairman and CEO through February 1, 2005 at the unanimous request of the board of directors. Cavanaugh had been slated to retire in 2004. Progress also announced that Robert B. McGehee has been named COO and president.

The New York Mercantile Exchange promoted Nachamah Jacobovits to senior vice president of corporate communications. Jacobovits was vice president of corporate communications and has worked at the Exchange for 13 years. She also is the secretary and a board member of the NYMEX Charitable Assistance Fund.

Arthur Meyer has been elected corporate secretary of DPL Inc. Meyer has been with DPL since 1992 and has held positions in the financial, legal, and operations areas of the company. DPL is the parent company of The Dayton Power & Light Co. and DPL Energy.

Mark S. Dodson has been appointed CEO of NW Natural effective January 1, 2003. Dodson replaces Richard G. Reiten, who served as CEO since 1997. Reiten remains chairman of the board of directors. Reiten also is expected to be elected chairman of the American Gas Association for 2003.

Bob Harris was selected the Upper Great Plains regional manager of the Western Area Power Administration. Since 1996, Harris has been UGP's power marketing manager. He also currently serves as chairman of the Mid-Continent Area Power Pool's board of directors and of MAPP's executive committee.

The board of directors of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) elected five new directors. They are: Allen Franklin-chairman, president, and CEO of Southern Co.; Lewis Hay III-chairman, president, and CEO of FPL Group, Inc.; Oliver D. Kingsley, Jr.-president and CEO of Exelon Generation; Garry L. Randolph-senior vice president, generation and chief nuclear officer of AmerenUE's Callaway nuclear plant; and Michael B. Sellman-president and CEO of Nuclear Management Co., LLC.

Calpine Corp. appointed Rohn Crabtree as president and CEO of Calpine Canada Power Ltd., which is manager of the newly established Calpine Power Income Fund. Crabtree will continue to serve as Calpine's senior vice president, corporate finance. Managing Calpine Canada Power Ltd. with Crabtree will be Bryan Bertacchi, COO and Arthur MacNichol, CFO. Bertacchi also serves as vice president, operations for Calpine, with MacNichol serving as CFO for Calpine Canada.

Duke Power has promoted two nuclear program site vice presidents. Henry B."Brew" Barron will serve as senior vice president, nuclear operations, while William R. McCollum Jr. will become senior vice president, nuclear support. Their former positions at the nuclear sites will be filled by the current station managers, Ronald A. Jones at Oconee and Dhiaa M. Jamil at McGuire.

SEMCO ENERGY, Inc. appointed Eugene N. Dubay as senior vice president and COO of SEMCO ENERGY GAS CO. Dubay will succeed current president Jon Kosht, who is retiring October 31.

Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.