New Hires:
Fortnightly Magazine - July 1 2003

New Hires:

Progress Energy shareholders re-elected Edwin B. Borden, James E. Bostic Jr., David L. Burner, Richard L. Daugherty, and Richard A. Nunis as Class II directors of the company. They will serve three-year terms.

Maryland Gov. Robert L. Erlich Jr. named state delegate Kenneth D. Schisler chairman of the Maryland Public Service Commission. Schisler succeeds Catherine I. Riley.

The Nuclear Energy Institute re-elected Donald C. Hintz chairman of its board of directors. The Entergy Corp. president will serve a one-year term.

David Svanda, president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC), chose James A. Burg to chair NARUC's Electricity Committee. Burg will leave his role as chair of NARUC's grassroots advocacy program, Washington Action, to assume his new duties as commissioner.

Atmos Energy Corp. named Verlon "Junior" R. Aston Jr. vice president of governmental affairs, a new position at the company. Aston previously was a petroleum land/permit agent in Texas for Exxon Co. USA.

DPL Inc. appointed Pamela Holdren treasurer of the company. Holdren has been with DPL since January 2000.

Energy services holding company South Jersey Industries (SJI) promoted three workers, naming Robert F. Fatzinger Jr. vice president of appliance service business and staff director of the company; Christopher Moschella staff director of strategic and financial planning; and Stephen Poniatowicz assistant vice president of Marina Energy and staff director of SJI.

David MacInnis was appointed president of the Canadian Energy Pipeline Association, replacing Bob Hill, who is retiring.

PJM Interconnection named Karl V. Pfirrmann president of its Western Region. Pfirrmann previously was vice president of energy supply at Allegheny Power.

John J. Riordan joined Peabody Energy as its director of benefit services. Riordan comes to Peabody after spending 28 years with Mallinckrodt Inc. in St. Louis.

Mirant stockholders re-elected A.D. Correll and James F. McDonald to the company's board of directors. Correll is chairman and CEO of Georgia-Pacific Corp.; McDonald is chairman, president, and CEO of Scientific-Atlanta Inc.

McDermott International subsidiary J. Ray McDermott S.A. named William L. Soester vice president of engineering for J. Ray. Soester spent 12 years with Fluor prior to his move to J. Ray.

MDU Resources named Mary B. Hager controller for MDU Resources. The MDU Resources Group Inc. board of directors named Dan Moylan assistant vice president of accounting and financial reporting, and Floyd Wilson vice president of strategic planning and corporate development for MDU Resources. Moylan previously served as corporate accounting manager and Wilson as strategic planning manager at MDU Resources.


The Georgia Woman of the Year Committee chose Judy Anderson, Georgia Power's senior vice president of Charitable Giving and president and CEO of Georgia Power Foundation Inc., as its 2003 Georgia Woman of the Year.

ConEdison Solutions selected Michel Rimpel for its Energy Education Award. Rimpel, director of engineering and security for the United Nations International School in New York City, is in the process of upgrading the electric motors and variable speed drives at the United Nations school.

Nuclear technology expert Dr. E. Gail de Planque received the Henry DeWolf Smyth Statesman Award, given in recognition of "statesmanlike contributions to the many aspects of nuclear energy activities." Dr. de Planque served as commissioner of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission from 1991-1995, director of the Energy Department's Environmental Measurements Laboratory, and president of the American Nuclear Society and the International Nuclear Societies Council.


Bruce E. Walenczyk retired as Allegheny Energy CFO in early June, according to Dow Jones. His interim replacement is Regis F. Binder.

People Editor
Public Utilities Fortnightly
Suite 400
8229 Boone Boulevard
Vienna, Va. 22182

Articles found on this page are available to Internet subscribers only. For more information about obtaining a username and password, please call our Customer Service Department at 1-800-368-5001.