New Opportunities:
New Opportunities:
Fortnightly Magazine - February 2004


New Opportunities:

EES North America

Duke Energy made several changes to its executive leadership. Dick Blackburn said he would retire as the company's executive vice president, general counsel, and chief administrative officer. He had been with the company since 1997. Duke also named Bill Easter chairman, president, and CEO of Duke Energy Field Services, replacing Jim Mogg , who moves up to group vice president and chief development officer for Duke Energy.

Northeast Utilities named Charles Shivery as interim head of the company, replacing departing Michael Morris , who joined American Electric Power as president and CEO. The company named Elizabeth Keenan interim chairman.

Progress Energy made numerous internal moves. President and COO Bob McGehee now directs both regulated and non-regulated businesses, Bill Johnson becomes group president of energy delivery, Peter Scott becomes president and CEO of the Progress Energy Service Co., Geoff Chatas becomes executive vice president and CFO, and John McArthur becomes general counsel and corporate secretary of the company.

PJM Interconnection named Audrey Zibelman executive vice president. She previously was president and chairman of the board at TRANSLink.

Mark T. Savoff , former vice president at GE Power Systems, Nuclear Energy, was named executive vice president of operations at Entergy.

Michael J. Renna , who has been with South Jersey Industries (SJI) since 1998, was elected vice president of SJI and president of subsidiary South Jersey Energy. Richard Jackson and Jeffrey DuBois were elected vice presidents of SJI as well, while Stephen Clark was elected treasurer of SJI.

Stan Wise was elected to a one-year term as president of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). He subsequently nominated five state commissioners to FCC deliberative bodies: Brian Moline of Kansas was nominated to the Federal-State Joint Conference on Accounting; Anne Boyle of Nebraska to the North American Numbering Council; and Bob Rowe of Montana, Susan Kennedy of California, and Thomas Welch of Maine to the Federal-State Joint Conference on Advanced Services. NARUC also hired Brian Adkins as its legislative director for telecommunications and water issues. Adkins previously was an advisor to Rep. Jane Harman , D-Calif. Lastly, NARUC re-elected Dr. Edward H. Salmon as president of its Commissioners Emeritus.

NorthWestern Corp. named Brian B. Bird CFO of the company. Bird previously held the same position at Insight Energy Inc.


Southern Co. Chairman, President, and CEO Allen Franklin will retire in July, after 33 years with the company, and Entergy President Donald C. Hintz announced his retirement from the company, effective in April.

Charles Biscieglia will retire this month as CEO of South Jersey Industries. Edward J. Graham succeeds Biscieglia.


Toronto Hydro Corp. President and CEO Courtney Pratt resigned Dec. 31, 2003. Pratt had held that position since April of 2001.


Knoxville Utilities Board President and CEO Larry Fleming died in December after a seven-month battle with cancer, the Knoxville News-Sentinel reported.


The Institute of Electrical And Electronics Engineers Inc. chose Consolidated Edison engineer Dr. Mayer Sasson , a principal advisor in Con Edison's Energy Markets Policy Group, as a Life Fellow.


Articles found on this