Fortnightly Magazine - July 2005

New Opportunities: Aquila Inc. announced that Norma F. Dunn has been named senior vice president, corporate communications. Prior to joining Aquila, Dunn worked 17 years in a variety of roles of increasing responsibility for El Paso Corp.

Andrew W. Patterson, formerly senior vice president of corporate development at American Electric Power (AEP), has rejoined Mercer Management Consulting as a director in the firm's utilities consulting practice. He is based in Atlanta.

William S. Cooper III, a a partner at Hunton & Williams LLP in Washington, D.C., has been named executive director of the Center for Liquefied Natural Gas (CLNG).

James von Riesemann has been named director of investor relations at FPL Group. Von Riesemann joins FPL Group from Lazard Freres & Co. LLC of New York, N.Y., where he held the position of vice president, power & utilities investment banking.

Britt T. McKinney, vice president-Nuclear Site Operations at the Susquehanna nuclear power plant, has been promoted to senior vice president and chief nuclear officer of PPL Generation, a subsidiary of PPL Corp. McKinney, who is a 30-year veteran of the nuclear power industry, served in his current position since May 2004.

Areva subsidiary Cogema Inc. announced the appointment of Dr. Alan Hanson as its executive vice president and Sam Shakir as director of strategy. Both Hanson and Shakir will retain their current roles at Areva subsidiary Transnuclear Inc.: Hanson as president and CEO and Shakir as vice president, marketing and business development.

The Electric Power Supply Association announced that John E. Shelk has been named president and CEO of the trade group, which represents competitive generators and marketers. Shelk, currently senior vice president, government affairs at the National Mining Association, began working in mid-June.

Duke Energy and ConocoPhillips named Michael J. Bradley to lead their efforts to form a new energy master limited partnership. Jim Mogg, chief development officer of Duke Energy, will serve as chairman of the new venture. Bradley was formerly group vice president, gathering and processing of Duke Energy Field Services.


Shuffle Board:

Kevin Burke was elected as Consolidated Edison Inc.'s president and CEO, effective Sept. 1, 2005. Burke also will serve as CEO of Con Edison's principal subsidiary, Consolidated Edison Co. of New York. Eugene McGrath will continue as chairman of the board. McGrath joined the company in 1963 and has served as chairman and CEO since 1990.


Dr. Neil E. Todreas, a noted professor of nuclear science and engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and a leader in the Department of Energy's (DOE) Generation IV reactor initiative, was awarded the Henry DeWolf Smyth Statesman Award by industry and academic organizations. The award is given in recognition of statesmanlike contributions to the many aspects of nuclear energy activities.

TXU Corp. Chairman Erle Nye received the nuclear energy industry's top individual award, the William S. Lee Award for Industry Leadership. The Lee Award recognizes leaders who have made an outstanding contribution to technical advancements, improved regulatory focus or public acceptance of nuclear energy.

James E. Rogers, Cinergy chairman, president and CEO, received the 2005 Leadership in Industry award from The Keystone Center.