Fortnightly Magazine - March 2008

Montana-Dakota Utilities: David L. Goodin became president of Montana-Dakota Utilities and Great Plains Natural Gas on March 1. Goodin will continue as president of Cascade Natural Gas. In his new positions, he succeeds Bruce T. Imsdahl, president and chief executive officer of Montana-Dakota Utilities and Great Plains Natural Gas, as well as CEO of Cascade Natural Gas, who will retire on June 5 after 38 years with the company.

ONEOK and ONEOK Partners, LP announced three new officer appointments. Caron A. Lawhorn, senior vice president and chief accounting officer of ONEOK, assumed added responsibilities as chief accounting officer for ONEOK Partners. Stephen B. Allen was promoted to vice president and associate general counsel at ONEOK Partners, and Joseph L. McCormick was promoted to vice president and associate general counsel for ONEOK distribution companies’ legal matters.

Duke Energy named Bruce H. Hamilton as vice president of McGuire Nuclear Station, from his position as vice president of Oconee Nuclear Station. He succeeds Gary Peterson, who was named vice president of nuclear fleet performance. Also, Duke appointed Richard W. Haviland as senior vice president, construction and major projects. Previously Haviland served as president and chief executive officer of the project execution group for Air Liquide.

PJM named W. Terry Boston its new president and CEO. He leaves TVA, where he was executive vice president of power systems operations.

PG&E announced the selection of Jack Keenan as chief operating officer. He assumes the role previously held by William T. Morrow, who was the utility’s president and CEO since July 2007. Keenan previously was senior vice president of generation and chief nuclear officer. John Conway, site vice president of PG&E’s Diablo Canyon nuclear plant, in the interim will assume the role as chief nuclear officer.

Energy Future Holdings (EFH—previously TXU) announced that John F. Young will become the first CEO of the Dallas-based energy holding company. Young leaves Exelon, where he served as executive vice president of finance and markets.

Peabody Energy named Richard A. Navarre president and chief commercial officer. Navarre had been chief financial officer since 1999.

Constellation Energy appointed Brenda Boultwood its senior vice president and chief risk officer. Previously she was global head of strategy at Alternative Investment Services for J.P. Morgan Chase & Co.

Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG) announced seven executive moves, including election of three corporate vice presidents. Eileen Moran, president of PSEG Resources, will take on added duties as senior vice president for strategic initiatives, PSEG Services. Kevin Quinn, previously president, PSEG Energy Resources & Trade, will become senior vice president, corporate planning, PSEG. Al Matos, previously vice president distribution operations, PSEG Global, will become vice president for renewables and energy solutions at Public Service Electric and Gas (PSE&G). Michelle Hallerdin, previously vice president of workforce planning and talent management at PSEG Services, will become vice president, strategic planning and finance, PSEG Global. PSEG also announced the following new officers: Richard Machon was named senior vice president, fossil operations at PSEG Power; David Daly, previously director in PSE&G’s customer operations group, became vice president energy acquisitions and technology at PSE&G; and Cora Brina, previously a director in PSEG’s human resources department was promoted to vice president, HR client services.

Ventyx promoted Vince Burkett to president and chief executive officer, from chief operating officer. Previous CEO Greg Dukat stepped down.

First Reserve Corp., the largest energy focused private equity firm, announced three promotions, with Rahman D’Argenio, Jeff Quake and Josh Weiner named as directors.

Associations:Northeast Gas Association: Stephen Bryant, president of Bay State Gas Co. and Northern Utilities, was elected chairman of the Northeast Gas Association.

Zigbee Alliance: Adrian Tuck, CEO at Tendril, was named vice chairman of the Zigbee Alliance.

Board Elections:AEP: Michael G. Morris, chairman, president and CEO of American Electric Power, was elected to the Batelle board of directors.

SCANA elected two new board members: James M. Micali, chairman and president of Michelin North America; and James W. Roquemore, CEO and chairman of Patten Seed Co.

The New York Independent System Operator elected to its board of directors James V. Mahoney, president and CEO of Energy Market Solutions, Inc.

Pinnacle West Capital Corp. appointed Gannett Newspaper Division President Susan Clark-Johnson to its board effective Feb. 1.


Retired: Duke Energy: Henry B. Barron, group executive and chief nuclear officer, is retiring effective March 31, after serving as Duke’s chief nuclear officer since 2004. Dhiaa M. Jamil, currently Duke Energy’s senior vice president of nuclear support, assumes the group executive and CNO role on February 17.

Williams: Michael Johnson, chief administrative officer at Williams Cos., will retire March 31 and is providing consulting services through year end to assist in the transition.

Dominion: Duane C. Radtke, executive vice present of Dominion, retired Dec. 31, 2007.

Sargent & Lundy: Thomas J. Murray, executive vice president at Sargent & Lundy LLC, retired at the end of 2007 after over 40 years with the company.


Resigned: Black Hills: Mark T. Thies, executive vice president and chief financial officer at Black Hills Corp., resigned effective Jan. 18, 2008.