Fortnightly Magazine - April 2008

New Opportunities: Southern Company named Ronnie Labrato vice president, internal auditing, following the announced retirement of Jackie Collins, who has led the company’s internal auditing function since 2001. Labrato assumes the new post April 1. Also on April 1, all of human resources is combined under Marsha Johnson, senior vice president of human resources and chief diversity officer.

FirstEnergy’s board of directors elected Gary R. Leidich executive vice president and president of FirstEnergy Generation, and Richard R. Grigg executive vice president and president of FirstEnergy Utilities. The promotions were effective March 2, 2008. Also effective the same day: Mark T. Clark is executive vice president, strategic planning and operations; Leila L. Vespoli is executive vice president and general counsel; Thomas C. Navin is vice president, investment management; Dennis J. Fuster is vice president, project construction; and John E. Paganie is vice president, energy efficiency.

Exelon named Ian P. McLean to lead its finance and markets organization following the departure of executive vice president and CFO John Young in January 2008. McLean is also president of Exelon’s Power Team, which he will continue to oversee. Matthew F. Hilzinger is appointed senior vice president and CFO of Exelon. Other senior executive appointments: Ruth Ann M. Gillis is appointed executive vice president and continues as president of the Business Service Co.; William A. VonHoene Jr. is appointed executive vice president and continues as general counsel; Andrea L. Zopp is appointed executive vice president and continues as chief human resources officer.

New Jersey Resources (NJR) named Kathleen T. Ellis executive vice president and chief operating officer at New Jersey Natural Gas. Joseph P. Shields, senior vice president at NJR Energy Services (NJRES), also will become executive vice president and COO at NJRES. Mariellen Dugan, vice president and general counsel at NJR, was named a senior vice president and general counsel. Jay Buth, controller at NJR Service Corp., also will become a vice president.

NYISO announced that its board chair, Karen Antion, assumed the post of interim chief executive officer and that Robert A. Hiney, a board member, assumed the post of interim NYISO president, effective March 1, 2008. President and CEO Mark S. Lynch stepped down at the end of February 2008.

UniSource Energy named Philip J. Dion vice president of legal and environmental services effective March 1, 2008.

FPL Group announced that Armando Pimentel would become CFO, replacing Moray Dewhurst who stepped down at the end of March 2008.

Constellation Energy Partners appointed Stephen R. Brunner as COO.

American Electric Power named Mark C. McCullough senior vice president, fossil and hydro generation. He succeeds Bill Sigmon, who was named senior vice president, engineering, projects and field services on Nov. 1, 2007.

Questar promoted Charles B. Stanley to COO effective March 1, 2008. The company also announced Alan K. Allred, president and CEO of utility subsidiary, Questar Gas, will retire later this year. Effective March 1, 2008, Ronald W. Jibson was promoted to executive vice president of Questar Gas and senior vice president of Questar Corp.

El Paso Electric announced the departure of President and CEO Hershel Redd. Executive Vice President and COO, J. Frank Bates, will serve as interim CEO.

Duke Energy’s commercial power business announced that Wouter van Kempen, president, Duke Energy Generation Services, will assume the added role of leading all commercial development in North America. Phil Grigsby, currently vice president, business development, will become senior vice president, Midwest generation portfolio. Richard Bates, currently managing director, mergers and acquisitions, will become vice president, mergers and acquisitions.

Commonwealth Edison hired Calvin Butler as vice president of state legislative and government affairs, effective Feb. 4, 2008.

ABB announced that Greg Scheu will head its power products division in North America. Filling his vacancy as vice president of automation products is Rick Hepperla, who was local business unit manager of North American low voltage drives.

Summit Blue Consulting LLC named Frank Stern as principal in utility resource planning, climate change policy analysis and renewable resources.

Booz Allen Hamilton named Herve Wilczynski as vice president promoting him from principal.

Board Members:North American Electric Reliability Corp. (NERC) elected Janice B. Case to its independent board of trustees. Incumbent trustees Paul Barber, Jim Goodrich and Fred Gorbet also were re-elected to three-year terms.

Dynegy announced Howard B. Sheppard was appointed to its board as a Class A director.

TECO Energy named John B. Ramil to its board of directors. He’s served as president and chief operating officer of TECO Energy since July 2004.

Commonwealth Edison appointed Dr. Michael H. Moskow to its board of directors.

El Paso Pipeline GP Company LLC named Matthew Ralls to its board of directors.

Oncor announced the board of directors for Oncor Electric Delivery Co. LLC: Nora Mead Brownell, Thomas M. Dunning, Robert A. Estrada, Monte F. Ford, William Temple Hill, Jr., Jeffrey Liaw, Marc S. Lipschultz, and Richard W. Wortham, III.

INGAA announced its board of directors elected Phil Wright, president of Williams’ gas pipeline business, as INGAA’s chairman of the board for 2008.

Nordic Windpower named Mervyn Davies its chairman of the board.


Retirements: Constellation Energy announced William H. Munn is retiring as president and chief executive officer of its BGE HOME subsidiary, effective March 2008 and was succeeded by COO Kevin Klages.

Southern Company announced the retirements on April 1, 2008 of: Dwight Evans, executive vice president, external affairs; Anthony James, executive vice president and president, shared services; and Robert Bell, senior vice president, human resources.