People (Feb 15, 2002)

Fortnightly Magazine - February 15 2002

Constellation Energy has announced several personnel changes. Eric P. Grubman has resigned from the company. He was elected co-president of Constellation Energy Group in 2000. Michael J. Wallace was selected to be the new president of Constellation Generation Group, the company's consolidated fossil and nuclear generation division. Edward A. Crooke, vice chairman, announced his retirement for a second time from the company. He returned from his first retirement in October 2000 to become chairman and CEO of Baltimore Gas & Electric Corp., when Constellation Energy Group announced its decision to separate its merchant energy and retail business-a plan that was cancelled in October 2001. Also retiring are Charles W. Shivery, co-president of Constellation Energy Group, and Robert E. Denton, president and CEO of Constellation Nuclear. Frank O. Heintz will continue as president and CEO of BGE, and Thomas V. Brooks will continue as president of Constellation Power Source.

Dan Boverman has been appointed vice president and CFO for Celerity Energy. Prior to joining Celerity, Boverman served as vice president and CFO of Concero Group, a Portland, OR-based company administering health insurance via the Internet.

SEMCO Energy announced that John E. Schneider has been appointed as CFO. Previously, he had been executive vice president and COO of SEMCO Energy Gas Company, the Michigan division of the company's natural gas distribution utility. Jon A. Kosht, president and CEO of SEMCO Energy Gas Company, will assume COO duties for utility operations in Michigan and Alaska. Steven W. Warsinske, who had served as interim CFO, will resume his duties as vice president of accounting and controller.

William Lindsay, an economist and former director of the Office of Electric Power Regulation at FERC, has joined the Brattle Group as a senior advisor.

Minnesota Power announced that Don Shippar, formerly executive vice president and COO, was named president and COO. He joined the company in 1976. Dave McMillan, formerly vice president of strategic accounts/marketing, has been named senior vice president of strategic accounts and government affairs. He joined Minnesota Power in 1989.

Jeffrey Watts, CFO for Capstone Turbine, has announced his plans to retire from the company. He joined Capstone in 1995, becoming the company's first CFO. He will remain with Capstone through early this year.

The board of directors of Ameren Corp. elected Richard J. Mark vice president for customer service. He comes to the company from Ancilla Systems where he was senior vice president.

Commissioner Angel M. Cartagena, Jr., of the Public Service Commission of the District of Columbia, has been appointed chairman of the DOE/NARUC Energy Market Access Partnership Board. Cartagena has been chairman of the D.C. PSC since July 2000. Prior to his appointment, Cartagena worked at the Consumer Information Bureau of the Federal Communications Commission. NARUC elected William M. Nugent president at its 113th annual convention. David A. Svanda was elected first vice president, Stan Wise was elected second vice president, and Constance B. White was elected treasurer.

Conoco Gas and Power Marketing named Al Mitchell executive vice president, trading. Prior to joining Conoco, Mitchell, a 12-year industry veteran, was executive vice president for commercial operations at Duke Energy Merchants.

Steve Rigazio, former president of Nevada Power Company, died on Dec. 27, 2001. He was 47 and had been diagnosed with Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS) in 1999. He had announced his retirement last June citing health reasons. Rigazio joined Nevada Power in 1984 as a rates administrator and was named president of the company in 2000.