People (April 1, 2002)

Fortnightly Magazine - April 1 2002

Edward F. Godfrey has been named to the Unitil board of directors. His term will continue until 2004. Godfrey is the former executive vice president and COO of Keystone Investments.

CH Energy Group Inc. announced that Steven V. Lant has been appointed COO, and was elected to the corporation's board of directors. Lant will continue to hold the office of CFO of CH Energy Group. He joined the company in 1980 and was appointed treasurer in April 1993 and CFO in November 1998. In addition, Steven M. Fetter , managing director of the Global Power Group within the FitchRatings International rating agency, has been appointed to the CH Energy Group Inc. board of directors. Fetter is the former chairman of the Michigan Public Service Commission.

Susan Glasmann and Alan Allred were named senior vice presidents for Questar Regulated Services, a subsidiary of Questar Corp. Glasmann had been vice president for operations, and Allred vice president for business development. Brent L. Adamson was appointed to the position of vice president, ethics, compliance, and audit on the Questar corporate level. Previously, Adamson was director of auditing and the compliance officer.

David Gartzke , president of Allete Inc., was recently named chairman and CEO. He began his career in 1975 when the company was Minnesota Power. He became president in August 2001. Arend Sandbulte is stepping down as chairman of the board, and will be retiring from the board in May, pursuant to the board's retirement policy.

AES Corp. announced several organizational changes. The board of directors created an executive office, comprised of five individuals, and led by Dennis Bakke, president and CEO. Paul Hanrahan , John Ruggirello , J. Stuart Ryan , and Barry Sharp have all been promoted to COOs, and will retain their present title of executive vice president. Sharp will also remain CFO for the present.

William T. McCormick Jr. , chairman and CEO of CMS Energy, has been appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Energy to serve on the Department of Energy's Electricity Advisory Board. The EAB was established to provide the DOE with expert advice, information, and recommendations on a range of electricity issues.

The board of directors for Avista Corp. elected Scott L. Morris as senior vice president of the corporation, and Karen S. Feltes as corporate officer-vice president of human resources and corporate services. Morris is also president and general manager of Avista Utilities, Avista Corp.'s regulated electric and natural gas operating division. Feltes most recently served as Avista's senior director of corporate human resources and general services. Morris joined Avista in 1981, and Feltes joined in 1998.

Covanta Energy Corp. appointed Robert S. Shapard as executive vice president and CFO. He succeeds Edward Moneypenny , who was appointed senior vice president and CFO of 7-11 Inc. Prior to joining Covanta, Shapard was executive vice president and CFO of Ultramar Diamond Shamrock. Before UDS, Shapard spent more than 20 years with TXU Corp.

Glenn Labhart , vice president and chief risk officer of Dynegy Inc., has been named Financial Risk Manager of the Year by the