People (November 2010)

Fortnightly Magazine - November 2010

New Opportunities: DTE Energy announced that president and COO Gerard M. Anderson became president and CEO October 1, taking the reins from Anthony F. Earley Jr. Earley assumed the title of executive chairman of the board and continues as a full-time employee.

DPL appointed Arthur Meyer as general counsel of DPL and Dayton Power & Light. He retains duties as senior v.p., corporate and regulatory affairs.

Exelon promoted Calvin Butler Jr. to senior v.p. of human resources for Exelon. He previously served as senior v.p. of corporate affairs for ComEd. Victor Fonseca is appointed senior v.p. of compensation and benefits; John Samolis to senior v.p. of labor relations; Michael Campbell to v.p., talent management and HR operations; Ellen Caya to v.p. of cyber and physical security; and Susan Weiss to v.p. of Exelon’s commercial operations group. Exelon also named Mary Streett as v.p. of federal government affairs and Jackie Carney as director of federal government affairs. Streett joins from Mayer Brown LLP and Carney from Bill Carney & Co.

EES North America

OGE Energy appointed William J. Bullard as general counsel for Oklahoma Gas & Electric (OG&E), while continuing to serve as assistant general counsel of PGE Energy.

Ameren named Maureen A. Borowski as president and CEO of a new subsidiary dedicated to electric transmission infrastructure investment, Ameren Transmission.

GeoGlobal Energy added three geothermal professionals to its technical team. Bob Swanson joined the company as drilling manager, Jim Stimac as senior geologist, and Paula Blaydes as director of environmental permitting and governmental affairs.

The Deloitte Center for Energy Solutions named Branko Terzic executive director. He will continue in his role as regulatory policy leader in Deloitte’s energy & resources industry group. He is a former commissioner at FERC and the Wisconsin PSC.

Deloitte added William Hederman to its energy and resources industry group. He was the FERC’s founding director of the market oversight and investigations office.

Alison Smith , a former U.S. assistant attorney general, joined McDermott Will & Emery as a partner in the firm’s global antitrust and competition practice group. Smith was principal deputy of the Department of Justice antitrust division and was responsible for enforcement in regulated industries.

Steptoe & Johnson on September 1 acquired the energy practice group of the western Pennsylvania law firm of Culbertson, Weiss, Schetroma and Schug. The practice is led by Russell Schetroma , whose practice focuses on oil and gas transactions, most notably the Marcellus shale formation.

Chesapeake Utilities announced that Jeffrey R. Tietbohl , v.p., was appointed president of the Maryland-District of Columbia Utilities Association.

Atmos Energy appointed Kim Cocklin president and CEO from president and COO. The company also appointed Robert Best , chairman of the board and CEO as executive chairman.

The Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) promoted Arshad Mansoor from v.p. of EPRI’s power delivery and utilization sector to senior v.p. of research and development. Chris Larson was hired as senior v.p. of operations and comes from service as v.p. and general manager of the nuclear division of Control Components.

The North American Energy Standards Board (NAESB), an industry association for the